1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Stuck under the A:\ directory

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by LickedySplit, Aug 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LickedySplit

    LickedySplit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I made multiple boot disks for dos which starts up fine and dandy but when I try to cd C:\ it tells me invalid drive specifications. It does this with all drives besides the floppy drive. At the start of dos it also says that there is an R: and a S:. I am stumped!:confused:
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Is the C: drive/partition formatted with NTFS? If so, a DOS boot disk won't read it or recognize it.
     
  3. blaqDeaph

    blaqDeaph

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    What boot disk are you using? What happens if you type cd s:?
     
  4. Dan Penny

    Dan Penny

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    Post the contents of the config.sys and autoexec.bat files which are on the boot floppy.
     
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Umm to change drives you don't type CD C:\ you just enter C:
     
  6. blaqDeaph

    blaqDeaph

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Even then, it doesnt return "Invalid Drive Specifications". It just acts as if nothing has happened. You only get something along the lines of this if you type format c:\
     
  7. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Do not use CD at all since you are not changing directories just enter C:
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,499
    First Name:
    James
    rockn is correct. Doing CD (drive) does not change the drive.

    Sounds like ethier the drive is NTFS (if the bootdisc is for Windows 9x) or the drive is corrupted somehow.
     
  9. Dan Penny

    Dan Penny

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    Forgot to add; is the hard disk(s) recognozed in the POST?

    "At the start of dos it also says that there is an R: and a S:. I am stumped!"

    Is the above in the POST?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/491450

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice