1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Stupidly Slow Internet On Brand New Laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Sophie117790, Apr 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sophie117790

    Sophie117790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi guys!

    Im new to the forum! Here's my problem!

    The internet on my new Dell Inspiron N5110 (opened on 13th April 2012) is much slower than my internet on my 4-year-old Dell Inspiron 1525. Occasionally, it will run fast but then lose it again. Why is this and how do i solve this problem? :confused:

    I have tried using a different internet browser (currently using Google Chrome) and disconnecting and reconnecting. I have run scans to check for viruses and I have run hardware checks. I have also tried running the same youtube video on my old and new laptops at the same time...my old laptop played the video straight away whilst my new one didnt play it at all! :mad:

    And its Sunday so of course Dell Tech Support are not open!

    I would really appreciate any help you could give me! Thanks! :)
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Does the speed issue occur with both wireless, and with an ethernet cable connected to your modem or router?
     
  3. Sophie117790

    Sophie117790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I was unable to connect using an ethernet cable :(
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    why - did you get an error

    can we have more detail
    make and model of the router

    can we see an ipconfig /all



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Sophie117790

    Sophie117790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, Etaf!

    I didnt get an error as such! I did what i could with what i had! I went to my router and connected it with a cable but i didnt have the right security PIN or something! So I think thats a problem with my knowledge rather than the laptop! :) I have a Virgin Media Super Hub router (up to 60gb).

    Here is what was written in notepad after ipconfig:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sophies-Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-EB-42-66-4B-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-EB-42-66-4B-BD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 1030
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-EB-42-66-4B-BC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::78fc:6281:86d8:1fe5%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.14(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 April 2012 13:02:02
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 15 April 2012 14:02:02
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 357362498
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-0E-FA-63-24-B6-FD-35-E5-EF
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-B6-FD-35-E5-EF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-EB-42-66-4B-C0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{9C52F70B-134D-475C-9A29-CBB6CE52B43A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{7841DBFA-0875-47B7-B072-5F05A938B324}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{55038544-AB03-4A60-AABF-30B8C8A6C1DF}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{EC1FCF14-50A0-403F-9B70-3FB7D7F10530}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73b8:18b9:337c:a154:6dd2(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::18b9:337c:a154:6dd2%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    you should not need a pin for cable connection

    when you performed the ipconfig /all - did you have the cable connected?
     
  7. Sophie117790

    Sophie117790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    No I didnt. I really have no idea how to do it to be honest! I know that sounds ridiculous but I have my router and my laptop, i connected it with a cable to the internet ports and then tried connecting. I was probably not doing it right but its very difficult to get to my router.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    Yes , that internet port should be connected to the cable modem if separate
    the cable will go from one of the LAN connections (you usually have 4 or these numbered 1-4)
    and the PC

    you also need to disconnect from the wirless - on dell this is often by using the FN + F2 keys - each time you do that it toggles the wireless on/off

    it would be worth trying to get to the router to see the type of speed you get on the new PC with a cable connection
     
  9. Sophie117790

    Sophie117790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hi there!

    Sorry for the late post!

    I am currently connected to the internet via an ethernet cable and it is running extremely well! So why doesnt it work as well on wireless, the way it should?

    It would be highly inconvenient for me to stay connected this way because I am currently sitting on the floor because there is no where to sit in this room! Lol! :p

    Thanks!
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    56,003
    that at least shows a good connection to the router - you may want to do a speedtest.net and pingtest.net and make a note of the results - and post here

    then we can start to investigate the wireless issues

    disconnect the cable
    and then do the same speedtest and pingtest and post the results - make sure we know which is which

    then post the following information when connected to the wireless only


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1049414