1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

su reg create key failed

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by wen, Dec 1, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wen

    wen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    601
    my niece has a packard bell 266 with 160mb and is running win me.

    when she turns on the comp she gets the post test and then it goes into options and guides her to safe mode.
    after safe mode her desktop screensaver comes up and then new hard ware found but then nothing.
    we managed to get scan disk to run once but nothing else, it just hangs on the screensavers.

    the message after trying to run new hardware is:

    enum\htree\root\o
    then
    su reg create key failed.

    i've looked thru what i could but can't find anything, any suggestions?

    wen
     
  2. wen

    wen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    601
    i should have put it in win95/98/me.
    can you move the thread for me.

    wen
     
  3. wen

    wen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    601
    wen
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya

    Okay, I have been to 2 differnet websites, just to see if they were the same, and they were. Are you using Win98/95 or is it ME?

    This is what they both say for Win98/95.

    For Windows 95/98/SE/NT/2000
    * Click Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Networks.
    * From the Configuration Tab, click Add -> Adapter.
    * Select Manufacturers = Network TeleSystems -> Network Telesystems PPPoE Adapter (NTSP3).
    * Click "OK", wait for completion, then reboot

    And for ME:

    For Windows ME
    * Click Start-Settings-Control Panel.
    * Double-click the "Add New Hardware" Icon.
    * Click "Next" until you can select the "No, I want to select the hardware from a list."
    * Click on "Network adapters".
    * Choose "Network Telesystems" for the Manufacturer.
    * Choose "Network Telesystems P.P.P.o.E Adapter(NTSP3)" for the Models.
    * Click "OK", wait for completion, then reboot.


    http://www.dslreports.com/faq/sbc/1.0+Enternet+300
    http://www.execulink.com/~tech2/dsl/dslfaq1-1.htm

    Regards

    eddie
     
  5. wen

    wen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    601
    i'll try the win me instructions, but she gets no icons nothing, and when i went thru that part of the add new hardware before the options are blank.
    i will try again tomorrow.

    thanks wen
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60323

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice