1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Subnetting diagram - find the configuration error!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mcse_student, Mar 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mcse_student

    mcse_student Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Ok so, first of all I hate subnetting. Secondly, please find the attached picture. Now, the configuration error in this diagram is 'the subnet mask is improperly connecteed for the network'.
    Please someone put me wrong, but so far I think this network will still operate, It just wont make use of having 2 different subnetworks. With the mask of /27, all client computers fall into one IP range, which is 192.168.2.160 - 192.168.2.191. The answer also states that a subnet mask of /28 should be used. If /28 is used, then Client A & B will be in their own IP range, and clients C & D will fall into their own IP range aswell.

    As it stands, without rectifying the mask this network should still operate correct?

    Thanks in advance guys!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That will depend on the exact make/model of that router, most SOHO routers don't do multiple subnets, they're strictly one class C subnet.
     
  3. mcse_student

    mcse_student Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Well, this is an example from one of the big blue books for MCSE. This router in the example does support multiple subnets. Thanks!
     
  4. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    I suspect the issue is broadcast domain. With /27 all four hosts are in the same broadcast address. /28 puts hosts A &B in one broadcast domain [x.x.x.191] whereas C&D is in a different broadcast address [x.x.x.175]
     
  5. mcse_student

    mcse_student Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the clarification Wanderer, that was what I thought. So indeed, the network would still operate, it's simply not as efficient as it could be?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Subnetting diagram find
  1. whookid1209
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    291
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/697313

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice