1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sudden change in fps bf2142?

Discussion in 'Games' started by The40oz, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. The40oz

    The40oz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Need some help here guys, Ive exhausted everything I know to do. I have been playing battlefield 2142 ever since it came out, no problems. Took some time off before xmas, when I came back I believe I had to download new patch. All of a sudden my frame rates went into the toilet. Now I understand I dont have the ultimate gaming rig, I never had this problem before I have played in full 64 player servers and the chop was playable, mostly during heavy combat and arty strikes. Now I cant even play in a half full room of 32.

    While im in the game, it starts out fine and as the game progresses (a couple minutes) it gets unbearable and unplayable. Its like im a few frames behind everyone else. Seriously weird and annoying.

    I have lowered my graphics settings to bare bone low across the board, and sound settings to bare minimum.

    Heres the steps I have taken since this first happened.
    cleared bf2142 cache
    scandisk and defrag
    ran virus and spyware cleaners
    un-installed and installed game
    reformatted hardrive (lol)
    upgraded video card drivers cat7.1
    scandisk and defrag
    re-install game and patches
    un-install game roll back to original graphic drivers
    re-install game and patches

    Which brings me to now, same problem....... went to device manager and graphics card and memory looks all good. Did a stress test on my graphics card..... I dont know if that did anything but it scored 750.

    Did a speed test on internet connection and that looked fine

    Here is my specs
    P4 2.53, 9800pro,2gig ram.

    I know its not a world beater but I actually played on some medium settings and some enhanced sound settings. My friend has about same rig, little slower processor, 1 gig ram and same card and he can still play.

    Im just at my whits end here, I cant take it......... I could just smash this thing. If you guys can think of anything else to try..... and I do mean anything give me a holler. Thanks
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Welcome,

    Have you re-installed the game and not installed the patch and then see.

    For me this is pointing to the Video card or drivers but this is worth a try

    I would empty all Temp folders ..use this free utility

    ATF Cleaner by Atribune.

    Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
    Under Main choose: Select All
    Click the Empty Selected button.

    If you use Firefox browser
    Click Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
    Click the Empty Selected button.
    NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.

    If you use Opera browser
    Click Opera at the top and choose: Select All
    Click the Empty Selected button.
    NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.


    Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.


    Run some Online scans

    PandaActiceScan
    • Once you are on the Panda site click the "Scan your PC" button
    • A new window will open...click the big "Check Now" button
    • Enter your Country
    • Enter your State/Province
    • Enter your e-mail address and click send
    • Select either Home User or Company
    • Click the big Scan Now button
    • If it wants to install an ActiveX component allow it
    • It will start downloading the files it requires for the scan (Note: It will take a couple minutes)
    • Click on "Local Disks" to start the scan
    • Post Panda scan results in your next reply

    TrendMicro Housecall

    TrendMicro Housecall (Europe)

    • Click Scan Now. It's Free!
    • Read and put a Check next to Yes I accept the terms of use.
    • Click Launching HouseCall button.
    • If confirmed that HouseCall can run on your system, under Using Java-based HouseCall kernel click the Starting HouseCall button.
    • You may receive a Security Warning about the TrendMicro Java applet, click YES.
    • Under Scan complete computer for malware, grayware, and vulnerabilities click the Next button.
    • Please be patient while it installs, updates, and scans your system.
    • Once the scan is complete, it will take you to the summary page.
    • Under Cleanup options, choose clean all detected infections automatically.
    • Click the Clean now button.
    • If anything was found you will prompted to run the scan again, you can just close the browser window.


    Restart Your PC after the Scan
     
  3. The40oz

    The40oz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the help, gonna do what you said right now.
     
  4. The40oz

    The40oz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Ran panda, housecall and cleaner. Panda came up with nothing and housecall had a couple tracking cookies. Uninstalled/installed the game for the fourth time in the past 24 hours...lol, played without the patch on single player and was choppy.
     
  5. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Understood....

    Have you tried lowering the settings in the game and see how it plays..

    What size HDD do you have and how much free space on it?

    Something running in the background can also cause this

    If we can see your startup list would help.

    Here's how

    Download Hijack This to your desktop
    Open it and click on the Hijack.exe it will open and use the default path
    Check do you wish an Icon.......
    Click on Icon and choose Open Misc Tools Section
    Then at the top Click on Generate a Startup list.... it will open in notepad

    Copy & Paste it in your next reply
     
  6. The40oz

    The40oz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Yea I lowered the graphics settings ingame to low across the board, plenty of space on hard drive.....reformatted.

    heres backround tasks
    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Desktop\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe
     
  7. The40oz

    The40oz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    StartupList report, 1/24/2007, 9:30:24 AM
    StartupList version: 1.52.2
    Started from : C:\Documents and Settings\Desktop\hijackthis\HijackThis.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.5730.0011)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Desktop\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ATIPTA = C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    ATICCC = "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\CLIStart.exe"
    AVG7_CC = C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
    SunJavaUpdateSched = "C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\jusched.exe"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    (Default) =
    ATI Launchpad = "C:\Program Files\ATI Multimedia\main\launchpd.exe"
    MSMSGS = "C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE" /background
    ctfmon.exe = C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=*INI section not found*
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=*INI section not found*
    drivers=*INI section not found*

    Shell & screensaver key from Registry:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\System32\logon.scr
    drivers=*Registry value not found*

    Policies Shell key:

    HKCU\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry key not found*
    HKLM\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry value not found*

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_10\bin\ssv.dll - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43}
    (no name) - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

    --------------------------------------------------
     
  8. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    No, nothing there that looks suspect...is you PC getting good ventilation and no dust build up in the PC?

    you can test temperatures with SpeedFan
     
  9. The40oz

    The40oz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Temps are good, I popped the cover off and used some compressed air yesterday. Just wanted to physically inspect my video card. LOL, yea it had some dust in there its been probley a year since I last had the cover off.
     
  10. The40oz

    The40oz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Ok Heres what im thinking.... I started the game, typed renderer.drawfps 1 to get my framerates up. It starts out at about 60 as the game goes on it gets lower and lower. The fan on my card is spining but its pretty hot, not hot enough to burn you...... but hot enough to make you move your finger. Im almost positive its got to be that. Where do I go from here. Should I under-clock my card? I dont have my sound card right up against it, I did leave some space for air to get to it. Can someone walk me through how to under clock the card im not very fimiliar with that. I also read somewhere that you can adjust your fans settings on your video card. Is that something I should try first?
     
  11. GripS

    GripS

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,113
    I would take the side panel off and aim a household fan at the innards. If the problem subsides your case ventilation needs some work.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537889

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice