1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sudden limited connectivity problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mang0tang0, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mang0tang0

    mang0tang0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hi,
    I was wondering if anyone could help me with this problem i just got.
    I have 3 computers ( 2 laptops and one desktop) connected to my DSL conection through a linksys router(not wireless)

    This connection has been running fine for the past 2 years. Yesterday all of a sudden when one of the laptops was turned on the other two computers suddenly went on limited connectivity from working fine.

    nothing was installed on the laptop that was turned on last but i do have windows automatic updates on.

    I can connect to the internet directly with each of the computers its just when i connect them through the router i cant

    Does anyone know how this problem can be fixed

    Thanx!
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    At least you know that the network cards are functioning.

    What happens if you use the same cable and port that is known to be working, with just one computer at a time.
     
  3. Parsleys

    Parsleys

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    last time i lost router access on one of my comps, running the home network wizard solved the issue...
     
  4. mang0tang0

    mang0tang0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    thanx for the replies

    i tried running the home networking wizard and also did a fresh install on one of the laptops
    i think maybe somethings wrong with the router cause i cannot connect even if i connect one computer through it but all 3 work if they connected directly to the dsl modem
    i reset the router but that did not help either
     
  5. mang0tang0

    mang0tang0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3

    none of the ports on the router are working.

    also it says unable to acquire network address when i click on the limited connectivity bubble
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/535903

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice