1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sudden Loss of Outlook 2007

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Spettro, Nov 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spettro

Spettro Thread Starter

I have been using my Dell Inspiron 6400 laptop since August 2007 with Windows XP Professional and MS Office 2007 Professional. On Thursday last week I tried to open Outlook 2007 but got an error response as follows:

"Cannot start Microsoft Office Outlook. Cannot open the Outlook window. The set of folders cannot be opened. Errors have been detected in the file C:\Documents and Settings\kevin Edwards\Local Settings|Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook\Outlook.pst. Quit Outlook and all mail-enabled applications, and then use the Inbox repair tool (Scanpst.exe) to diagnose and repair errors in the file. For more information about the Inbox repair tool, see Help."

Couldn't find the .pst file (hidden, in fact there was no Local Settings folder) so checked 'hidden' box in next higher folder properties. As I was short of time decided to cancel and resolve later.

Two days later I started computer and got error message:
    "Unable to create C:\Documents and Settings\kevin Edwards\Local Settings\Application Data\BVRP Software\Net Waiting\MoHlog.txt file".

Clicked on OK button.

First thing I noticed was a lot of the icons on the desktop were missing. Trying to open Outlook gave the following response:

"An extension failed to initialize. Cannot open file: extend.dat. The file may not exist, you may not have permission to open it, or it may be open in another program. Right-click the folder that contains the file, and then click Properties to check your permissions for the folder. You don't have appropriate permissions to perform this operation."