1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sudden PowerCut Make PC very Slow !

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by AmanRastogi, Sep 14, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AmanRastogi

    AmanRastogi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    First Name:
    Aman
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8178 Mb
    Graphics Card: ASUS EAH5450 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 263052 MB, Free - 203598 MB; D: Total - 299999 MB, Free - 93802 MB; G: Total - 99998 MB, Free - 73320 MB; H: Total - 149997 MB, Free - 149385 MB; I: Total - 226932 MB, Free - 226822 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, DH61WW
    Antivirus: Kaspersky Anti-Virus, Updated and Enabled

    Hello Technicians,
    Few days back, while working on my PC a sudden POWERCUT happens which turns off my PC automatically.
    As soon the power comes i turn on my PC it takes a very long time to boot. Till the time when the MICROSOFT LOGO comes to the screen it takes the normal time but after that till my desktop windows appears it taking a lot of time. After the MICROSOFT LOGO the screen turns completely BLACK.
    After taking a lot of time in Booting process , if i want to use any of my application , the application won't starts. It too takes a lot of time to start the application. Even with Google Crome it happens the same. PC is working very very SLOW.
    Please help me out how to get rid of this issue. I am a 3D Animator n my computer is my life , like a family member.
    I have mentioned my PC Configurations above.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2016
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,904
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it may have had a corruption of the Disk or windows
    Did the PC run chkdsk at all when it restarted
    try the following
    -------------------------------------------------------------

    Lets do a system file check, and check the Windows files.

    System File Checker - SFC /scannow

    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/how-to-run-system-file-checker-analyze-its-logs-in-windows-7-vista
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/929833

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    open the command prompt as administrator
    Start> All Programs> Accessories and then right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    SFC /scannow
    This will take some time to scan and you will get 1 of 4 possible results​

    1. Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations. - This means that you do not have any missing or corrupted system files.
    2. Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files and successfully repaired them.
    3. Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them.
    4. Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation.

    If you do receive the message in 3 or 4
    Lets see a log file

    findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log >%userprofile%\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt

    • This will place a file on your desktop called sfcdetails.txt which contains the results of the scan.
    • Copy and Paste the contents of the file into your next post.
    =================================================================
     
  3. AmanRastogi

    AmanRastogi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    First Name:
    Aman
    No , the PC did not run a chkdsk when it restarted.​
     
  4. AmanRastogi

    AmanRastogi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    First Name:
    Aman

    I am getting the 1st message i.e - Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations.
    Now what should i do?
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,904
    First Name:
    Wayne
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1178062

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice