Sudden problem with wireless router

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

foxshot

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
14
Hello

Since today i'm having a big problem with my Dlink DI-524 wireless router. I can't connect to the internet anymore through it but I still can browse other computers shared files on the network. Same with all the other computers.

I've run antivirus in all computers and everything is ok.

I updated the router's firmware.

I even switched routers because I have 2 DI-524s and nothing happens I still can't browse the web. I can only browse the web connecting the modem directly to my pc.

I don't know if this helps but yesterday i was trying to download wrestlemania via torrent with my computer, this morning it appeared at 23% fully stopped and the connection dead.

It it's driving me crazy because it has always worked fine.

Thanks for your attention.
Hope you guys can help me out.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
458
Go to a command prompt and do an IPCONFIG /ALL and post the contents here.
 

foxshot

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
14
Sure, sorry it's in spanish

Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Lenovo>ipconfig /all

Configuración IP de Windows

Nombre del host . . . . . . . . . : LENOVO1
Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . . :
Tipo de nodo. . . . . . . . . . . : mixto
Enrutamiento habilitado. . . . . .: No
Proxy WINS habilitado. . . . . : No
Lista de búsqueda de sufijo DNS: cantv.net

Adaptador Ethernet Conexión de área local :

Estado de los medios. . . .: medios desconectados
Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B0-D0-9F-A9

Adaptador Ethernet Conexiones de red inalámbricas :

Sufijo de conexión específica DNS : cantv.net
Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-D2-2F-77-2B
DHCP habilitado. . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguración habilitada. . . : Sí
Dirección IP. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
Máscara de subred . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Puerta de enlace predeterminada : 192.168.0.1
Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Servidores DNS . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.0.1
Concesión obtenida . . . . . . . : Martes, 01 de Abril de 2008 09:58:46 p.m.
Concesión expira . . . . . . . . .: Martes, 08 de Abril de 2008 09:58:46 p.m.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You have DHCP disabled, any reason you did that? That looks like an issue.

I'd enable DHCP on that machine and see if that helps you connect...
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,323
John was talking about the LENOVO1 PC. But since you can access the router that shouldn't be a problem.

If you unplugged the modem when switching from computer to router, the router may be shot. Try a reset to factory default settings. If that works, stay away from torrents.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I was referring to your network configuration on the Windows machine. However, this screen shot shows that you have no connection to the modem, which is obviously a major issue!

Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.

  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.

When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

foxshot

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
14
Thanks man but didnt work.. I just can't get it, it seems like the router is blocking all incomming connections from the internet, but i checked the router's firewall and everything is fine. Also tried to connect with another DI-524 I have and the same thing happens. I don't know, maybe the problem is not the router, but what could it be then? all the computers have the same problem. This is very weird :S
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Connect directly to the modem with a computer. Power down the modem and the computer. Turn on the modem, wait for it to initialize. Turn on the computer. When it's fully booted, let's see another IPCONFIG /ALL
 

foxshot

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
14
ok I did step by step as mentioned, here it is

Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Lenovo>ipconfig /all

Configuración IP de Windows

Nombre del host . . . . . . . . . : LENOVO1
Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . . :
Tipo de nodo. . . . . . . . . . . : mixto
Enrutamiento habilitado. . . . . .: No
Proxy WINS habilitado. . . . . : No
Lista de búsqueda de sufijo DNS: cantv.net

Adaptador Ethernet Conexión de área local :

Sufijo de conexión específica DNS : cantv.net
Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B0-D0-9F-A9
DHCP habilitado. . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguración habilitada. . . : Sí
Dirección IP. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Máscara de subred . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Puerta de enlace predeterminada : 192.168.0.1
Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Servidores DNS . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.0.1
Concesión obtenida . . . . . . . : Miércoles, 02 de Abril de 2008 12:29
:50 a.m.
Concesión expira . . . . . . . . .: Miércoles, 09 de Abril de 2008 12:29
:50 a.m.

Adaptador Ethernet Conexiones de red inalámbricas :

Estado de los medios. . . .: medios desconectados
Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
k Connection
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-D2-2F-77-2B
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,323
Is that (post #11) connected to the modem? If so, it is a modem/router combo. What is the brand and model? Also, if so, you need to connect to the Dlink and change its LAN address to something else; for example 192.168.3.1 (and change the Dhcp server range to agree with the 192.168.3.x).
 

foxshot

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
14
Yes, i had the computer directly connected to the router, and the router connected to the modem, My modem is an Efficient Networks SpeedStream 5667.

Well the router's ip adress is that one 192.168.3.1 and the dhcp range is from 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.199. Should i change the router's ip adress and the dhcp range?
 

foxshot

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
14
Well I changed it, still no progress.
This is getting tough man..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top