1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sudden SLOW Startup

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by antech, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    I am a Beta tester,so about after 2 years made my mind to test norton 360 v4.0.
    The laptop was running fine before the install but after install it suddenly slowed down due to Norton 360 eating up about 72MB RAM.
    Decided to uninstall
    Ran the Norton Remover tool 3-4 times but didnt help.
    Now the startup is terribly slow
    Please help me with it.
    Are Norton Entries Still present?
    HiJack This Log is Below:
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 1:02:13 PM, on 4/1/2010
    Platform: Unknown Windows (WinNT 6.01.3504)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.7600.16385)
    Boot mode: Normal
    Running processes:
    C:\Windows\system32\taskhost.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
    C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\NetWorx\networx.exe
    C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\avp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtblfs.exe
    C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp\7zSD15B.tmp\SymNRT.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\taskmgr.exe
    E:\HijackThis.exe
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.in/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: IEVkbdBHO - {59273AB4-E7D3-40F9-A1A8-6FA9CCA1862C} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\ievkbd.dll
    O2 - BHO: SkypeIEPluginBHO - {AE805869-2E5C-4ED4-8F7B-F1F7851A4497} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O2 - BHO: link filter bho - {E33CF602-D945-461A-83F0-819F76A199F8} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtbbho.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &NetWorx Desk Band - {FEEA54B4-D80F-41C7-87B9-DC08E6D3255F} - C:\PROGRA~1\NetWorx\deskband.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NetWorx] "C:\Program Files\NetWorx\networx.exe" /auto
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avp] "C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\avp.exe"
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /autoRun (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\RunOnce: [mctadmin] C:\Windows\System32\mctadmin.exe (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /autoRun (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\RunOnce: [mctadmin] C:\Windows\System32\mctadmin.exe (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Anti-Banner - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\ie_banner_deny.htm
    O9 - Extra button: &Virtual keyboard - {4248FE82-7FCB-46AC-B270-339F08212110} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtbbho.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Skype add-on for Internet Explorer - {898EA8C8-E7FF-479B-8935-AEC46303B9E5} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Skype add-on for Internet Explorer - {898EA8C8-E7FF-479B-8935-AEC46303B9E5} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O9 - Extra button: URLs c&heck - {CCF151D8-D089-449F-A5A4-D9909053F20F} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtbbho.dll
    O13 - Gopher Prefix:
    O16 - DPF: {140E4DF8-9E14-4A34-9577-C77561ED7883} (SysInfo Class) - http://content.systemrequirementslab.com.s3.amazonaws.com/global/bin/srldetect_cyri_4.1.71.0.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O18 - Protocol: skype-ie-addon-data - {91774881-D725-4E58-B298-07617B9B86A8} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\PROGRA~1\KASPER~1\KASPER~1\mzvkbd3.dll
    O23 - Service: Ati External Event Utility - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: Kaspersky Internet Security (AVP) - Kaspersky Lab - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\avp.exe
    O23 - Service: COMODO Time Machine Client Service (ClientService) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\COMODO\Time Machine\ClientService.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: XAudioService - Conexant Systems, Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\xaudio.exe
    --
    End of file - 4809 bytes


    Any Help to speed up my System is also appreciated
     
  2. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Bump.
    anyone here??
     
  3. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    What is your Operating System?

    Don't see any mention of Norton in your log
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Your log shows the Norton Removal Tool is still running (SymNRT.exe).
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    As pointed out by Frank4d, the Norton Removal Tool is in your running processes:

    C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp\7zSD15B.tmp\SymNRT.exe

    Kill the process and delete that temp file and anything in the folder. If a file resists deletion, leave it.
     
  6. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Since i have posted in the win 7 forum , this is win 7 ultimate edition
    Yeah, i was once again runnin' the norton removal tool when i was posting my problem
    Any Extra processes out there??
    I am curious to KILL EM OUT
     
  7. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Now there are no temp files present in there.
    I have to get back to study
    Please help me out solving this problem and optimizing the system
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Thank you for the clarification........
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Your log is not showing any traces of Norton nor anything else that could explain why your computer has suddently decided to take longer to boot. You don't have much running on that computer either. Unfortunately, HijackThis doesn't show all running processes on Windows 7 and Vista computers.
     
  10. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    So,after sometime ,about 10-15 hours from now I will post a screenshot of msconfig and task manager and disk space remaining on each drive
    I was Quad - Booting when this problem took place.
    This was the menu Then:
    Windows 7
    Windows Vista
    Windows XP
    Xubuntu

    Now the Boot Menu looks like this :
    Windows 7(auto boot)
    No selections at all.
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Instead of msconfig, you can download the free Autoruns. No installation needed.

    Run Autoruns.

    Click on File.

    Click on Save…

    Save the new AutoRuns Data (*.arn) file to your desktop.

    Close the Autoruns program.

    Right-click on the new desktop AutoRuns .arn file.

    Select Send To > Compressed (zipped) Folder.

    Attach the compressed file to your next post.

    You could also download and run the free Process Explorer. It doesn't need any installation. Simply run the program, click on File > Save. This will save a text file of your running processes. You can then paste or attach it to your next post.
     
  12. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    As for Autoruns , I have the file attached here
    I said I will post the msconfig and taskmanager screenshots because it dosent require any additional programs and hence everybody will be able to see it.
    The task manager window is divided into two parts
    I think my pc has unecessary processes running.
    I will soon post the List of Installed Programs
     

    Attached Files:

  13. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Bump once again...
    Anyone Win 7 Expert
    I had great experience with Win XP ,but the WHOLE SYSTEM Changed with 7,
    So I am unable to point out the problem
     
  14. antech

    antech Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Megabite,any recommendations??
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Sudden SLOW Startup
  1. mkdsk
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    531
  2. NWABCS
    Replies:
    29
    Views:
    1,527
  3. Ken_RM
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    693
  4. Alfin
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    958
  5. martin211
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    444
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/913974

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice