Sudden SLOW Startup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

antech

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
I am a Beta tester,so about after 2 years made my mind to test norton 360 v4.0.
The laptop was running fine before the install but after install it suddenly slowed down due to Norton 360 eating up about 72MB RAM.
Decided to uninstall
Ran the Norton Remover tool 3-4 times but didnt help.
Now the startup is terribly slow
Please help me with it.
Are Norton Entries Still present?
HiJack This Log is Below:
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 1:02:13 PM, on 4/1/2010
Platform: Unknown Windows (WinNT 6.01.3504)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.7600.16385)
Boot mode: Normal
Running processes:
C:\Windows\system32\taskhost.exe
C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\NetWorx\networx.exe
C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\avp.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtblfs.exe
C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp\7zSD15B.tmp\SymNRT.exe
C:\Windows\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Windows\System32\taskmgr.exe
E:\HijackThis.exe
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.in/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: IEVkbdBHO - {59273AB4-E7D3-40F9-A1A8-6FA9CCA1862C} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\ievkbd.dll
O2 - BHO: SkypeIEPluginBHO - {AE805869-2E5C-4ED4-8F7B-F1F7851A4497} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
O2 - BHO: link filter bho - {E33CF602-D945-461A-83F0-819F76A199F8} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtbbho.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &NetWorx Desk Band - {FEEA54B4-D80F-41C7-87B9-DC08E6D3255F} - C:\PROGRA~1\NetWorx\deskband.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NetWorx] "C:\Program Files\NetWorx\networx.exe" /auto
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avp] "C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\avp.exe"
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /autoRun (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\RunOnce: [mctadmin] C:\Windows\System32\mctadmin.exe (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /autoRun (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\RunOnce: [mctadmin] C:\Windows\System32\mctadmin.exe (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Anti-Banner - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\ie_banner_deny.htm
O9 - Extra button: &Virtual keyboard - {4248FE82-7FCB-46AC-B270-339F08212110} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtbbho.dll
O9 - Extra button: Skype add-on for Internet Explorer - {898EA8C8-E7FF-479B-8935-AEC46303B9E5} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Skype add-on for Internet Explorer - {898EA8C8-E7FF-479B-8935-AEC46303B9E5} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
O9 - Extra button: URLs c&heck - {CCF151D8-D089-449F-A5A4-D9909053F20F} - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\klwtbbho.dll
O13 - Gopher Prefix:
O16 - DPF: {140E4DF8-9E14-4A34-9577-C77561ED7883} (SysInfo Class) - http://content.systemrequirementslab.com.s3.amazonaws.com/global/bin/srldetect_cyri_4.1.71.0.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O18 - Protocol: skype-ie-addon-data - {91774881-D725-4E58-B298-07617B9B86A8} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\PROGRA~1\KASPER~1\KASPER~1\mzvkbd3.dll
O23 - Service: Ati External Event Utility - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: Kaspersky Internet Security (AVP) - Kaspersky Lab - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Internet Security 2010\avp.exe
O23 - Service: COMODO Time Machine Client Service (ClientService) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\COMODO\Time Machine\ClientService.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: XAudioService - Conexant Systems, Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\xaudio.exe
--
End of file - 4809 bytes


Any Help to speed up my System is also appreciated
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Howdy,

What is your Operating System?

Don't see any mention of Norton in your log
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Your log shows the Norton Removal Tool is still running (SymNRT.exe).
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
As pointed out by Frank4d, the Norton Removal Tool is in your running processes:

C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp\7zSD15B.tmp\SymNRT.exe

Kill the process and delete that temp file and anything in the folder. If a file resists deletion, leave it.
 

antech

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Since i have posted in the win 7 forum , this is win 7 ultimate edition
Yeah, i was once again runnin' the norton removal tool when i was posting my problem
Any Extra processes out there??
I am curious to KILL EM OUT
 

antech

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Now there are no temp files present in there.
I have to get back to study
Please help me out solving this problem and optimizing the system
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Your log is not showing any traces of Norton nor anything else that could explain why your computer has suddently decided to take longer to boot. You don't have much running on that computer either. Unfortunately, HijackThis doesn't show all running processes on Windows 7 and Vista computers.
 

antech

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
So,after sometime ,about 10-15 hours from now I will post a screenshot of msconfig and task manager and disk space remaining on each drive
I was Quad - Booting when this problem took place.
This was the menu Then:
Windows 7
Windows Vista
Windows XP
Xubuntu

Now the Boot Menu looks like this :
Windows 7(auto boot)
No selections at all.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I will post a screenshot of msconfig and task manager
Instead of msconfig, you can download the free Autoruns. No installation needed.

Run Autoruns.

Click on File.

Click on Save…

Save the new AutoRuns Data (*.arn) file to your desktop.

Close the Autoruns program.

Right-click on the new desktop AutoRuns .arn file.

Select Send To > Compressed (zipped) Folder.

Attach the compressed file to your next post.

You could also download and run the free Process Explorer. It doesn't need any installation. Simply run the program, click on File > Save. This will save a text file of your running processes. You can then paste or attach it to your next post.
 

antech

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
As for Autoruns , I have the file attached here
I said I will post the msconfig and taskmanager screenshots because it dosent require any additional programs and hence everybody will be able to see it.
The task manager window is divided into two parts
I think my pc has unecessary processes running.
I will soon post the List of Installed Programs
 

Attachments

antech

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Bump once again...
Anyone Win 7 Expert
I had great experience with Win XP ,but the WHOLE SYSTEM Changed with 7,
So I am unable to point out the problem
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Instead of msconfig, you can download the free Autoruns. No installation needed.

Run Autoruns.

Click on File.

Click on Save…

Save the new AutoRuns Data (*.arn) file to your desktop.

Close the Autoruns program.

Right-click on the new desktop AutoRuns .arn file.

Select Send To > Compressed (zipped) Folder.

Attach the compressed file to your next post.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top