Suddenly it wont start

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rickthepainter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
2
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4800+, AMD64 Family 15 Model 107 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 1918 Mb
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon Xpress 1150 Series Secondary, 7 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 76216 MB, Free - 28160 MB;
Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 0A64h
Antivirus: Norton Security Suite, Updated and Enabled

Hello I am rick and new
The system listed above is not the one I am having problems with, my problem child is a emachine w3052 ive had for a long time, it runs xp home SP3 and the monitor is a Pivilionmx70........Here is the issue, It has always ran fine, I had it unhooked for a few weeks and set it up and the monitor would just go to green light for a second then back to yellow, no mouse-no keyboard, I noticed that the socket on the back seemed loose so I opened it up and observed the one portion I could see and wiggled the socket and it was moving the pins that penetrated the board. At this point I figured that I would need to get the board out and perhaps resolder the connection if it had broken free but mainly secure the socket some way.
Well just a laugh I started it up and it worked fine so I used LapLinkMover to move my data to my win7, all went well, now the next day nothing SOS. When I move the plug in the socket the green light comes on but still no image other than the floating message saying CHECK VIDEO CABLE CONNECTION only when the light is green, still no Mouse-no Keyboard.
I have tried a different monitor and the same thing happens. I would like some guidance on how to do some preliminary tests and hear what others have to say about this.
I hope that was enough information. Thank's , I look forward to your reply.............rick
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
I noticed that the socket on the back seemed loose so I opened it up and observed the one portion I could see and wiggled the socket and it was moving the pins that penetrated the board. At this point I figured that I would need to get the board out and perhaps resolder the connection if it had broken free but mainly secure the socket some way.
Hi, have you taken out the board and soldered the loose connection?
How old is this emachine w3052?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,153
How old is this emachine w3052?
B:

It appears to be a 2006-era model that came with Windows XP Home Edition SP2.

------------------------------------------------------------
 

rickthepainter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
2
This is rick
Thanks for the reply, to answer your questions, Yes I did get the board out and will need more magnification to actually see the joints , just had eye surgery,however , I was able to rest my finger on the back of the board and could movement. The next step for me is to secure the board and have someone else move the socket while I have my finger on the board." this will disconnect my mind and left hand from right" then I will try a Loupe to look at it, I will surely let you know.........
As for the age, I will look right now. . .ok the silver label on top of board says, Phoenix Bios PentiumIV PHOENIX 2001 003362842.....lower left corner of bd. is, 1.1MO480020. ( I think you are right FLORIDA !) 2006
Seeing the solder joints again they do look light just on that one set, like a different BOT or body installed it ?

Thanks again flavallee and Blues_Harp28 you have very good taste in music !
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Hi Rick, thanks the update, good luck and hope you recover from the surgery and feel better soon.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top