1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Suggestions for a LAN network design case study

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bayushihigure, Mar 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bayushihigure

bayushihigure Thread Starter

I am an IT student and lately we were given a case study about network and designing a LAN solution. I admit I am not a network guru and I appreciate some suggestions on some of the things about the case study. I kinda figured out some of the things but some just are mind boggling to me. Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
    Case Study: Building is 5 levels. The first 3 levels has 5 classrooms including a computer lab. level 4 is a student lounge with 10 computers and a library with 5 computers. Level 5 is the department and administrative offices. There are 16 people in the departments all in all (who needs a PC), an accounts director and a academic director. The computer labs should be equipped with 30 student PCs and 1 tutor PC.
    More Details
    - Each staff member should have their own PC, access to printer, internal email and student database
    - The 10 student lounge computers have access to a paid printer
    - Students and staff who has their own laptop can connect to the internet via wireless service
    - Student computers should not be able to access official printer, internal staff email and student database
    - Staff should be able to share files between departments
    - Network should be secured
    - There is a surveillance camera on each level

Need suggestions on these
    - How many routers, switches, sockets, ISP's and Gigabit NICs do I need? And what kind?
    - Suggestions on the network architecture & topology
    - Servers and their locations
    - Security measures?