Suggestions for Speakers for my PC?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,302
Well Amazon cancelled my order because they can't get the speakers I ordered and I was back to square one. But I just ordered the Bose speakers that @Noyb mentioned from Walmart because they were less expensive than on Amazon.

I saw that they have an adapter but it's very small and shouldn't take up more than one outlet on the UPS so that's fine. The wire between the speakers is 60 inches so that's what I need without having to purchase another one.

They should arrive in a few days so I'll let you know how they are once I've got them hooked up.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,302
I received the Bose speakers today and they sound very good and are nice looking. The adapter also only takes up one space on the UPS which is what I wanted. But the sound is comparable to the ones I already have so I guess they were better quality than I thought. They are SonLab CS-880 and you can adjust the treble and the bass but you can't do that on the Bose ones. I can't find anything on the Internet about them. But I'm still happy with these new ones.

Now I have the chore of getting them hooked up permanently because my desk has a shelf unit top to it and I have to pass the wire connecting the two speakers behind it down to the holes on the little shelves and there's only a couple of inches of space to work with. One side is more difficult since it's up against the wall in the corner. I'll struggle with that tomorrow.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Thread Starter
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,302
I know I'm talking to myself here but I set the new speakers up. I managed to feed the wire from the right to left speaker by taping it to the previous wire and pulling them through together. I have no clue how I managed to do it the first time all those years ago in such a tight space.

So then I had to pull the UPS out as far as I could (it's in the compartment where a tower would normally go) to plug the adapter in. Did that, put the UPS back in place and all of a sudden I've lost my Internet connection. I thought I might have pulled something loose but the only thing that goes through the UPS is the power adapter which I had just plugged in. But I checked the back of the Modem and the tower where the Ethernet wire goes and the phone wire, all was good but the darn WAN was still flashing red. Now I am hardware challenged but I do know how to connect a modem.

So I then did the required reboot of the modem and waiting 10 minutes but that didn't work so I had to call Bell and the girl did a few things on her end and actually fixed it. She said it was likely caused by the weather as we've had some pretty severe storms and heavy rainfalls and they've had a lot of calls for this. They just have to change some configurations on their end. Phew!

They look and sound great and everything works. :)
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
116,510
I managed to feed the wire from the right to left speaker by taping it to the previous wire and pulling them through together.
Had I seen this in time, that's what I would've suggested doing. I've done things very similar to that in the past. It usually works much better than feeding them from scratch!
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,069
Now you know why I prefer to use a flat-screen monitor which has built-in speakers - no wiring to mess with. ;)
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
116,510
Unless you want decent sound ... Flat screen TV speakers are notorious for having cheap, tinny speakers, and desktop monitors are even worse! Just my $.02.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,069
I don't game or do anything that requires booming sound, so the integrated speakers in the monitors that I've used are usually sufficient for me.
If I need better sound, I have a USB-powered set of Logitech speakers to fall back on.

-------------------------------------------------
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
25,193
I sure hope my tiny Cambridge Soundworks speakers never need replacing!
They measure about 7cm x 7cm x 7cm and fit under my monitor. The sub woofer sits on the floor under the desk.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top