1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Suggestions on Ram

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TMLewiss, Oct 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TMLewiss

TMLewiss Thread Starter

I am getting a Abit KL8 SLI Mobo with two 7600GTs in SLI and I wanted to get 2gig of DDR in Dual Channel, but im not sure which ones I should get. I am completely new to SLI and I am noticing that you have to have a lot of parts that are just made for SLI. Like th PSU and the Mobo and stuff. So I was wondering, is their a difference in ram when it comes to SLI. The two sticks I was looking into were these: Ram Compare

Is there really a big difference between the two in performance? And do any of you have any suggestions on what I should get?

My Build will be:

Audigy 2 ZS Platnium
    2x250g 7200 RPM HDD 8mb Cache
    2xeVGA 7600GT SLI
    2x1gig DDR 400 Dual Channel
    Abit KN8 SLI
    DVD Dual Layer Drive
    CD+-RW Drive
    Generic Floppy Drive
    AMD 4600+ X2 Manchester
    Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W PSU

2. pugmug

pugmug Banned

The second ram has better time. Can you give a link to this Abit KL8 SLI mobo specs?

3. TMLewiss

TMLewiss Thread Starter

Its KN8 SLI... stupid voice recognition software... on the other hand, who is more stupid, the software or the user for not proof reading? Here is the link: KN8 SLI

4. pugmug

pugmug Banned

5. pugmug

pugmug Banned

I prefer Mushkin.Geil,or OCZ above the rest for preformance ram.

6. TMLewiss

TMLewiss Thread Starter

I just know that Corsair XMS is considered one of the best performance rams available. But still, do you have to have a special type of ram that supports SLI. I seriously doubt it since that would make no sense. But like some RAM actually has the SLI logos so im wondering.

7. TMLewiss