Suggestions WRT iPod mini

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jiml8

In the recent past, I have suddenly encountered a LOT of threads and information that indicates a problem with the iPod mini battery.

Now, my daughter got an iPod mini for her birthday in August, so I am interested in this; I don't want to have to deal with what so many others are dealing with.

However, I have seen enough that I have formed a tentative hypothesis about the cause of the problem and a workaround for it.

Now, by background and training I am a physicist. I have worked with electronics, computers, and various types of complex systems for over 35 years. It also happens that I have flown radio controlled model airplanes for nearly 40 years, and that has caused me to acquire a considerable store of knowledge about the care and feeding of rechargeable batteries.

What I am seeing suggests strongly to me that the battery is being charged incorrectly by the iPod mini. This idea is not based on any hands-on testing and analysis; I have not torn my daughter's apart in order to study the charging circuitry. But the idea is consistent with the observed problem and it immediately suggests a workaround.

Modern rechargeable batteries are sensitive to how they are charged. More than likely the particular battery is a nickel metal hydride cell, and these can easily be overcharged - which will quickly kill them. Typically, these are charged by a pulse width modulation system that varies the duty cycle, turning down the effective charge rate as the battery charges and turning it off when the battery is fully charged.

If the charging process does not stop when the battery is full, the battery will be damaged.