1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Superfetch

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Stingray10, Mar 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stingray10

    Stingray10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    When I starts my comp it's activity keeps running for about 3 mins.Is this Superfetch running?Can this be set to manual or should I leave it alone?(I'm kinda new to Vista)!:confused:
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,068
    Can you be more specific? Are you saying that it takes that long for things to load?? You can disable Superfetch, but as long as you're running Vista on a machine that supports it, I would leave it alone. Superfetch is a new service included in Vista that learns which programs you use the most often, and loads them into memory. So basically, the more you use it, the better performance you get out of it. Do you have a lot of things running in the system tray??
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,239
    "comp it's activity keeps running for about 3 mins"
    This may be your AV doing a scan, the Search doing a Index update, or a dozen or so other things. You need to describe what this "activity" is so we can be of more help?
     
  5. Stingray10

    Stingray10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    I'm trialing AVG Internet Security 7.5.I'll call it the activity light on the bottom of your tower that flickers when your doing a scan, runs for about 3 mins I guess after startup.Does superfetch start just after bootup?I'm new to Vista and perhaps your correct in it being a startup scan.I was curious in what this activity was.Is there a way I can tell?
     
  6. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,068
    You can run task manager (ctrl, Alt, Del) and look at your running processes.
     
  7. Stingray10

    Stingray10 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    I'll keep that in mind on my next reboot.I'll open task manager and see whay processes are running.(y)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/689803