Surface RT got BSoD now in BitLocker Recovery

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

2talll

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
478
Which model of Surface do you own? And which year ?
So I was able to finally get it to work using the volume down, but again it goes into Bitlocker Recovery. I found a site that had instructions to resest it through command prompts but it asks for a recovery password and none of the passwords I have ever used works so what the heck would be the password?
 

2talll

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
478
So I had a photo slideshow going the other night and got an error that the device suffered and unexpected error and needs to close. When it started I got the blue screen that I have attached. None of the BitLocker options worked as they just said no changes were made and returned me to the blue option page. Entered my botlocker key and everything, and still nothing. Tried refreshing and reinstalling using botlocker and nothing. Made a ISO on a USB of windows to try that and when I plug it in, the Surface starts to open and says entering BotLOcker Recovery and goes right to the blue options page. No matter what I try it always goes back the blue options page.

There's nothing on it I need as it was just a photo slide show basically, but even reinstalling Windows clear isnt working. What am I doing wrong.

One weird thing I noticed yesterday... it wouldnt take the password to log into my account that it took hours before.
UPDATES:
Using the hold Volume and turn on to get to BIOS doesn't work... it goes to BitLocker Recovery still.
Found my keyboard and holding Left Shift doesn't go into Bios either... Goes to BitLocker Recovery.
Tried using command Prompts and it asks for a RECOVERY PASSWORD. I tired every single password I have ever used in my life and none are the correct password. Is there some different recovery passowrd that I di not know about?
 

2talll

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
478
I have no idea what is wrong with this stupid thing! It went into Recovery last week and the BitRecovery did nothing- just stuck in a loop of going back the "options" page no matter what I do. I've spent a week looking through google for ideas, tried everything and still opens BitLocker everytime. Holding Volume Down does nothing as it won't start unless I let go. I went through all the command prompts to use the recovery image on the USB and still nothing. It asked for my language like it was restarting, but then was only setting up my keyboard and went right back to the BitLocker Recovery option. I have the Recovery ISO on the USB ready to go, but there is nothing I can do to get it to read the USB. ANy suggestions?!? I don't want to pay a boatload to have a computer shop fix it when it'll probably take them five minutes to use the USB I already made.

When I tried to reset the Surface after all the command prompts found here:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...e-locked/1e9bc613-b1a9-4ba0-805b-cbfda928e6f2

i get all the way to resetting and then it stops at 3% and says there was a problem
 
Last edited:

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,898
You will need to change the boot option or at least make it boot to USB so you can use the stick. However if the USB stick was not made correctly, the surface will not see it.

To confirm:

The Microsoft or Surface logo appears on your screen. Continue to hold the volume-down button. Release the button once spinning dots appear beneath the logo.

You were holding this down when pressing the button until the spinny is showing?
 

2talll

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
478
You will need to change the boot option or at least make it boot to USB so you can use the stick. However if the USB stick was not made correctly, the surface will not see it.

To confirm:

The Microsoft or Surface logo appears on your screen. Continue to hold the volume-down button. Release the button once spinning dots appear beneath the logo.

You were holding this down when pressing the button until the spinny is showing?
Yes, I was holding volume down. It states BitLocker Recovery before the spinny thing even appears. It will legit not start up until after I let go of the volume. It won't start with the volume down. The rare couple occassions it did- it still went right into the bitlocker options. I followed the instructions to the letter to make the USB.
 

2talll

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
478
You will need to change the boot option or at least make it boot to USB so you can use the stick. However if the USB stick was not made correctly, the surface will not see it.

To confirm:

The Microsoft or Surface logo appears on your screen. Continue to hold the volume-down button. Release the button once spinning dots appear beneath the logo.

You were holding this down when pressing the button until the spinny is showing?
It went further this time... but I still got the "there was a problem resetting" error.
Maybe it is the USB.... do you have a link to create the USB? I tried the following one:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/surface-recovery-image
and also created the ISO from this Windows link:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows8ISO

But neither seem to work right (I even tired the 32 bit and the 64 bit not knowing which i had.)
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,861
I`ve merged both of your threads together as they are both for the same issue which was ongoing from the first one. I've changed the title to include the latest development.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,898
It's possible that the USB is not set to UEFI and not detected.

To confirm, you can skip the BitLocker screen because at this point you will need to turn it off in Command Prompt, but then you still need to fix Windows, which may or may not happen. If you don't have any data on the surface that you need, then let's make sure we can get you to the Windows OS installation on the USB.

Note: BitLocker will show every time you reboot, So I will recommend getting it turned off so we can try to get you to the boot menu.

Use the advanced options to go to Command Prompt in Administrator Mode (which is what it should be in when in repair mode), then type manage-bde -unlock c: <password> and press enter.

c: is the drive you are working on. You would need to change it if it's different.

<password> is the password you have been using and I am pretty sure it requires the hyphens when typing it. I.E. 12345-12345- etc. Next, when it is unlocked. type manage-bde -off c: and press enter. This will decrypt the drive. Depending on the drive size and how full, it may take sometime to turn off.

Looking at Microsoft's page, I had one page show use the volume up button and another to use the volume down button... so i guess it depends on the model? Anyways, here is a link from Microsoft to confirm the steps to make and use the USB recovery.
 

2talll

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
478
It's possible that the USB is not set to UEFI and not detected.

To confirm, you can skip the BitLocker screen because at this point you will need to turn it off in Command Prompt, but then you still need to fix Windows, which may or may not happen. If you don't have any data on the surface that you need, then let's make sure we can get you to the Windows OS installation on the USB.

Note: BitLocker will show every time you reboot, So I will recommend getting it turned off so we can try to get you to the boot menu.

Use the advanced options to go to Command Prompt in Administrator Mode (which is what it should be in when in repair mode), then type manage-bde -unlock c: <password> and press enter.

c: is the drive you are working on. You would need to change it if it's different.

<password> is the password you have been using and I am pretty sure it requires the hyphens when typing it. I.E. 12345-12345- etc. Next, when it is unlocked. type manage-bde -off c: and press enter. This will decrypt the drive. Depending on the drive size and how full, it may take sometime to turn off.

Looking at Microsoft's page, I had one page show use the volume up button and another to use the volume down button... so i guess it depends on the model? Anyways, here is a link from Microsoft to confirm the steps to make and use the USB recovery.
Can I skip this drive when going into command prompt. It doesn't take any password I have ever used. It took the password when I started trying all this stuff but now it wont.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,898
Yes, you can skip typing in the BitLocker key for the drive, but if you cannot get to Command Prompt because you don't have an admin username/password, then you should be able to do the installation and it will go over the BitLocker and create a new one I am not mistaken

I assume your BitLocker information is in your Microsoft Account?
 

2talll

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
478
Yes, you can skip typing in the BitLocker key for the drive, but if you cannot get to Command Prompt because you don't have an admin username/password, then you should be able to do the installation and it will go over the BitLocker and create a new one I am not mistaken

I assume your BitLocker information is in your Microsoft Account?
I have the bitlocker recovery key I got from microsoft but like I said, NONE of the passwords I have ever used are working and the one that worked a few days ago doesnt work now.

I put in the command prompt like you said but I got "The syntax of the command is incorrect.
Why cant there just be a way to erase all this none working crap and start fresh like with a laptop?? Its like trying to break into Fort Knox just to reinstall Windows! :mad:

I'm trying to recreate the Recovery USB. Something I read said it had to be NTSB for it to work so I reformatted it. (Not sure that matters since the first step of the creation is "formatting the drive."
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top