1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

suse 8.1 installation

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by blaa, Feb 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blaa

blaa Thread Starter

:confused:

Hi , im a noob to linux i have recently obtained a copy of suse 8.1 pro and would like to know how to install from scratch i already have xp pro installed on the hdd but before i format it i would like to know if i have to convert to ntfs before installing linux since im curently fat 32 or do i have to bother at all , will suse do it all for me . I dont even know were to start , i mean do i just insert the disk and away we go or what :p can anybody guide this noob through the whole prosess from scratch plz ....:confused:

2. trevor1

trevor1

HI, and welcome to TSG so u say u have winXP and u want to istall SUSE, do u want to keep winxp or erase the disk and have linux by itself, is your winxp running Fat32 or ntfs

3. lynch

lynch

How big is your hard drive and is xp using the whole thing?
    If you want to keep xp,leave it as fat32(you can read/write fat but only read ntfs in linux) and SuSE will ask if you want it to resize the partition to make free space for itself.You just have to decide how much room you need for each OS.
    Be sure to defrag and scandisk xp before installing SuSE.And I would recommend turning off Plug and Play in the bios setup.That will help Linux detect your hardware.
    lynch

4. blaa

blaa Thread Starter