svchost.exe (netsvcs) using 80% of ram and most of my cpu

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bas2603

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
8
hello people of the internet

i need some help with my pc a process called svchost.exe (netsvcs) is using a hole bunch of ram and stoping me from doing stuff on my computer i don`t know what is triggering it to do this. but its been doing this for at least a month now iv scanned with malwarebytes and scanned with bit defender and my system is clean but it will not stop happening, any help?

p.s i am now checking it when i boot up my computer and its hovering around 17,000 kbs to 30,000kbs but when it slows down my pc it goes right up to 172,000kbs+. also if i stop the process it makes windows 7 look like an old version of windows and then crashes my computer.

p.p.s this is my first post on this website so im not sure if i put it in the right category if i did put it in the wrong category sorry about that.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,173
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2350M CPU @ 2.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3985 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000, 1800 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 462504 MB, Free - 183580 MB;
Motherboard: Type2 - Board Vendor Name1, Type2 - Board Product Name1
Antivirus: Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition, Enabled
You're a new member and this is your first post, so I'm going to assume these are your current computer specs.

If your computer is a factory-brand one, advise what brand name and model name and model number it is.

If your computer is a custom/home-made one, advise what brand name and model number its motherboard is.

------------------------------------------------------------

We don't know what's installed in your computer and how many running processes it has, so that may account for the high processor/ram usage.

------------------------------------------------------------
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
This can be indicative of a particular type of infection.

I suggest doing the following.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Post to Virus & Other Malware Removal Section

You need to start a thread in the Virus & Other Malware Removal section of this site.

Before you post though, you need to read this guide.

----------

Malware Removal Restrictions

Only Malware Removal Specialists
, Malware Removal Trainees
, and Trusted Advisors
are allowed to assist with malware removal of any kind.

If anyone without these designations offers advice on malware removal do not follow them, and report their post.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
You cannot kill the svchost.exe processes or your computer will become inoperable. It's an essential process, all instances of it.

Open your Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL).

Select the Processes tab.

Right-click the svchost.exe process showing high memory usage.

Select Properties.

Can you take a screenshot of that window?
 

bas2603

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
8
You cannot kill the svchost.exe processes or your computer will become inoperable. It's an essential process, all instances of it.

Open your Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL).

Select the Processes tab.

Right-click the svchost.exe process showing high memory usage.

Select Properties.

Can you take a screenshot of that window?
the thing is it does it at random i don`t know what sets it off to do this il try to get a screen shot soon mate if it goes off!
 

bas2603

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
8
You're a new member and this is your first post, so I'm going to assume these are your current computer specs.

If your computer is a factory-brand one, advise what brand name and model name and model number it is.

If your computer is a custom/home-made one, advise what brand name and model number its motherboard is.

------------------------------------------------------------

We don't know what's installed in your computer and how many running processes it has, so that may account for the high processor/ram usage.

------------------------------------------------------------
computer brand : Toshiba
type of Toshiba : Toshiba satellite C850
PART NO. PSKC8A-07300S
SERIAL NO. 7C217680R

i think that's the rest of my computers info
 

bas2603

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
8
This can be indicative of a particular type of infection.

I suggest doing the following.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Post to Virus & Other Malware Removal Section

You need to start a thread in the Virus & Other Malware Removal section of this site.

Before you post though, you need to read this guide.

----------

Malware Removal Restrictions

Only Malware Removal Specialists
, Malware Removal Trainees
, and Trusted Advisors
are allowed to assist with malware removal of any kind.

If anyone without these designations offers advice on malware removal do not follow them, and report their post.
i`m sure its not malware or a virus other wise it will be doing it all the time.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Forget about post#4. It's not going to give me what I want to see.

Run the free Process Explorer.

Right-click the svchost.exe process showing high memory usage.

Select Properties.

Select the Image tab.

Your screenshot should look something like this:

 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,173
computer brand : Toshiba
type of Toshiba : Toshiba satellite C850
PART NO. PSKC8A-07300S
SERIAL NO. 7C217680R
The Toshiba Satellite C850-073 (PSKC8A-07300S) laptop supports a maximum of 16 GB of RAM.

OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
RAM: 3985 Mb
Yours appears to have only 4 GB of RAM.

Since yours is running Windows 7 64-bit, you should increase it to 8 GB or max it out with 16 GB.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
It takes a lot of resource-hungry applications to max out 4 GB of RAM. Even more for 8 GB. And who needs 16? If he had Vista, I'd agree, but it's Windows 7.

I've found that 9 times out of 10, software is to blame. I'd first rule that out before spending money. But, that's me.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,173
We don't know what's installed and running in his computer and how memory-hungry some of them are.

Considering that and considering he's running Windows 7 64-bit, I would add another 4 GB.

I'll leave it to you guys from here on.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I'm not saying you're wrong. We don't know yet. But as we often do here, why not look at what's running on that computer, and also make sure it isn't infected.

I have a Windows 7 64-bit computer with 4 GB of RAM. I can't even imagine maxing that out. But again, it's me.
 

bas2603

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
8
The Toshiba Satellite C850-073 (PSKC8A-07300S) laptop supports a maximum of 16 GB of RAM.



Yours appears to have only 4 GB of RAM.

Since yours is running Windows 7 64-bit, you should increase it to 8 GB or max it out with 16 GB.

--------------------------------------------------------
thats what im trying to do. im gona save up for an 8 gig set of 2 sticks just to make sure they both work
 

bas2603

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
8
Forget about post#4. It's not going to give me what I want to see.

Run the free Process Explorer.

Right-click the svchost.exe process showing high memory usage.

Select Properties.

Select the Image tab.

Your screenshot should look something like this:

so like this? oh btw i don`t allways have a lot of stuff open i am just editing.
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top