1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

svchost.exe (netsvcs) using 80% of ram and most of my cpu

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by bas2603, Mar 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bas2603

    bas2603 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    hello people of the internet

    i need some help with my pc a process called svchost.exe (netsvcs) is using a hole bunch of ram and stoping me from doing stuff on my computer i don`t know what is triggering it to do this. but its been doing this for at least a month now iv scanned with malwarebytes and scanned with bit defender and my system is clean but it will not stop happening, any help?

    p.s i am now checking it when i boot up my computer and its hovering around 17,000 kbs to 30,000kbs but when it slows down my pc it goes right up to 172,000kbs+. also if i stop the process it makes windows 7 look like an old version of windows and then crashes my computer.

    p.p.s this is my first post on this website so im not sure if i put it in the right category if i did put it in the wrong category sorry about that.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,670
    First Name:
    Frank
    You're a new member and this is your first post, so I'm going to assume these are your current computer specs.

    If your computer is a factory-brand one, advise what brand name and model name and model number it is.

    If your computer is a custom/home-made one, advise what brand name and model number its motherboard is.

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    We don't know what's installed in your computer and how many running processes it has, so that may account for the high processor/ram usage.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    This can be indicative of a particular type of infection.

    I suggest doing the following.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Post to Virus & Other Malware Removal Section

    You need to start a thread in the Virus & Other Malware Removal section of this site.

    Before you post though, you need to read this guide.

    ----------

    Malware Removal Restrictions

    Only Malware Removal Specialists [​IMG], Malware Removal Trainees [​IMG], and Trusted Advisors [​IMG] are allowed to assist with malware removal of any kind.

    If anyone without these designations offers advice on malware removal do not follow them, and report their post.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You cannot kill the svchost.exe processes or your computer will become inoperable. It's an essential process, all instances of it.

    Open your Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL).

    Select the Processes tab.

    Right-click the svchost.exe process showing high memory usage.

    Select Properties.

    Can you take a screenshot of that window?
     
  5. bas2603

    bas2603 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    the thing is it does it at random i don`t know what sets it off to do this il try to get a screen shot soon mate if it goes off!
     
  6. bas2603

    bas2603 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    computer brand : Toshiba
    type of Toshiba : Toshiba satellite C850
    PART NO. PSKC8A-07300S
    SERIAL NO. 7C217680R

    i think that's the rest of my computers info
     
  7. bas2603

    bas2603 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    i`m sure its not malware or a virus other wise it will be doing it all the time.
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    If it's not constant, than no, it may not be.

    Given your original post that was the impression I was under.
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Forget about post#4. It's not going to give me what I want to see.

    Run the free Process Explorer.

    Right-click the svchost.exe process showing high memory usage.

    Select Properties.

    Select the Image tab.

    Your screenshot should look something like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,670
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Toshiba Satellite C850-073 (PSKC8A-07300S) laptop supports a maximum of 16 GB of RAM.

    Yours appears to have only 4 GB of RAM.

    Since yours is running Windows 7 64-bit, you should increase it to 8 GB or max it out with 16 GB.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    It takes a lot of resource-hungry applications to max out 4 GB of RAM. Even more for 8 GB. And who needs 16? If he had Vista, I'd agree, but it's Windows 7.

    I've found that 9 times out of 10, software is to blame. I'd first rule that out before spending money. But, that's me.
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,670
    First Name:
    Frank
    We don't know what's installed and running in his computer and how memory-hungry some of them are.

    Considering that and considering he's running Windows 7 64-bit, I would add another 4 GB.

    I'll leave it to you guys from here on.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    I'm not saying you're wrong. We don't know yet. But as we often do here, why not look at what's running on that computer, and also make sure it isn't infected.

    I have a Windows 7 64-bit computer with 4 GB of RAM. I can't even imagine maxing that out. But again, it's me.
     
  14. bas2603

    bas2603 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    thats what im trying to do. im gona save up for an 8 gig set of 2 sticks just to make sure they both work
     
  15. bas2603

    bas2603 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    so like this? oh btw i don`t allways have a lot of stuff open i am just editing.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144608

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice