1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SVCHost Taking up 50% of my CPU

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by brelia1, May 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brelia1

    brelia1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Hey! My SVCHost.exe is taking up a large amount of my CPU. https://i.gyazo.com/b0d76071322abd7e36777818e482cf95.png Originally I thought it was a virus, but I've done a Malwarebytes, VirusTotal and Avast! Full scan and nothing has appeared.

    When I close it, the computer runs without problem at the speed it did previously, however it reopens on each boot and after a while after I close it.

    Sysinfo:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8120 Eight-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8092 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB, -1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 1862 GB (1596 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., M5A97 LE R2.0
    Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,124
    First Name:
    Liz
    What do you have Windows updates set to?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    Do the following so we can see which startup and service entries are auto-loading and running in the background.
    If you prefer to submit images instead, that'll save you a lot of time typing.

    Click Start, then type MSCONFIG in the search or run box, then press the Enter key.
    When the small "System Configuration" window appears, click the "Startup" tab.
    Write down ONLY the names in the "Startup Item" column that have a checkmark next to them.
    If the "Startup Item" column isn't wide enough to see the entire name of any of them, widen the column.
    Submit those names here in a vertical list.
    Make sure to spell them EXACTLY as you see them there.

    Click Start, then type SERVICES.MSC in the search or run box, then press the Enter key.
    When the "Services" window appears, expand it so you can see the list more clearly.
    Write down ONLY the names in the "Name" column that have their startup type set on Automatic and Automatic (Delayed Start).
    If the "Name" column isn't wide enough to see the entire name of any of them, widen the column.
    Submit those names here in a vertical list and in alphabetical order.
    Make sure to spell them correctly.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,615
    download process explorer and run it. It is installation free meaning that it runs within itself. scroll to the SVCHOST that is using the most CPU and right click it and select properties. Select the services tab. From there you can see the .DLLs that are running under that host. In this way we'll know if it is Windows Updates or something else causing this issue.

    Process Explorer

    Untitled.png
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    Your Process Explorer images are of no help to me.
    I need to see the images that I requested.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. brelia1

    brelia1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Windows update: https://i.gyazo.com/58186237226b085d70d0145f6baeb9bd.png

    System Configuration (startup):
    Avast Antivirus
    Adobe Updater Startup Utility
    Microsoft Xbox 360 Accessories
    NVIDIA GeForce Experience
    Discord
    Steam Client Bootstrapper
    Gyazo Station
    CCleaner
    MyComGames (possibly virus?)
    DAEMON Tools Lite
    Skype
    SSBV 2010/02/19-11:02:07
    Adobe CS6 Service Manager
    Hamachi Client
    Java Platform SE Auto Updater
    Razer Synapse
    NoMoreBan.ahk
    ShareX
    Twitch

    Services.msc:
    1. https://i.gyazo.com/161830ce197461105de21903dad5648d.png
    2. https://i.gyazo.com/42b160fb8da80a0d2cc249f84b3262e2.png

    Will update with Process Explorer images when it happens again

    Edit: I noticed that when editing code in Java, if I were to press "reset", Eclipse would close. I then took to Google, typing "reset" there would close it too. This happens even if I close the services.msc taking up 50% of my CPU. The only way I was able to type "reset" is to type it as 2 words then delete the space in between. Again, I've done multiple virus tests, so this seems really strange.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    It looks your copy of Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit hasn't been updated in about 7 months.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Uncheck these startup entries:
    Adobe Updater Startup Utility
    CCleaner
    SSBV 2010/02/19-11:02:07
    Adobe CS6 Service Manager
    Java Platform SE Auto Updater

    After you're done, click Apply - OK- Exit Without Restart.

    There are several others in your startup list that probably can be unchecked, but I'm not familiar with them, so I left them alone.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Double-click these service entries, one at a time, to open its properties window:
    Diagnostic Tracking Service
    Distributed Link Tracking Client
    Malwarebytes Service
    (unless you're using the paid version)
    Microsoft .NET Framework NGEN (both entries)
    NVIDIA Telemetry Container
    Offline Files
    Program Compatibility Assistant Service
    Software Protection

    Change "Startup Type" to Manual, then click Apply.

    There are a few others in your services list that probably can be changed to Manual, but I'm not familiar with them, so I left them alone.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    After you're done with both of the above, restart your computer.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    Clipboard.jpg

    Considering how you use your computer and the large number of apps it has, a better performing processor and another 8 GB of RAM may be needed.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. brelia1

    brelia1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    I did what you said flavallee, but that unfortunately didn't change the % of my CPU services.msc is using. Again, I closed services.msc and PC is working fine, I think it might be a virus however no scanners pick it up. You got any experience with that?
     
  10. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,124
    First Name:
    Liz
    It's not a virus, Windows is trying to download 7 months of updates and you keep closing it out.
     
  11. brelia1

    brelia1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Do you know why typing reset could cause Firefox to close?
     
  12. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,308
    First Name:
    David
    When and where are you typing "Reset"?
     
  13. brelia1

    brelia1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
  14. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,615
    Well I did not post it for you... I posted it for the O.P.
     
  15. brelia1

    brelia1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Firefox also closes when I type 'hacker'. I feel like there's definitely something malicious in my PC lol.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - SVCHost Taking
  1. Mrcobra
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    693
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210345

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice