synaptics touchpad not responding

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

will s

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
19
OK here is the problem,
I was using the touch-pad as always and it was working just fine all morning
than I put my system in standby when i returned my touch-pad was not responding. When I checked the driver properties under device status it read:
device could not start (code 10).
I rolled the driver back and nothing then I tried to uninstall/reinstall the driver from a download I got from the gateway website still nothing finally I tried a simple system restore (not a complete restore w/disk just restored back to sometime yesterday) still nothing even though it was working fine in the time frame i had restored back too.

if Anyone has any ideas let me know, I would greatly appreciate the help.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
I take it this is the touch pad on some type of laptop???

I just looked in Device Mgmt for my touch pad. It isn't even defined as such! It is there as an "Alps Pointing Device". Generically, a mouse...plugged into the PS/2 Port.

It works perfectly.

Perhaps you should try adding such a generic device...delete what is currently there, and see what happens.
 

will s

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
19
in my device manager the exact device name is synaptics PS/2 port touchpad.
As for adding A different device how would go about finding another compatible driver that I could install to replace the existing one?

on the other hand I have used the one I have currently for almost a year on this notebook and have the same device on my other notebook (which is still working fine) and I have never had a problem until now. I would say that something is wrong with the physical pad, but the error i'm getting leads me to
believe that something in the program itself is missing and is needed to start device while the system boots up.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
If you ADD a generic device, windows should have a driver for it.

My touchpad has a 'button' to physically disable it. It is above the Pad. Does yours...and could it have been accidently pushed??
 

will s

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
19
no mine has no such button.
where can i find such a genaric device?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
Will, here is the response you sent me in a 'private msg'. You really should have Posted it here so that others would know that your problem is solved!!! (y)


winbob, sorry to bother you but I have control of my touch-pad again and the funny thing is I didn't do anything really. I was going to do a full system restore so I put the disk in restarted the system let it boot up the restore options and then just before I hit the button to start the full recovery I tried the touch pad and it was fully functional. weird huh. thought you might of wanted to know.
well once again thanks for your time and sorry to bother you.
will
 

will s

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
19
winbob said:
Will, here is the response you sent me in a 'private msg'. You really should have Posted it here so that others would know that your problem is solved!!! (y)


winbob, sorry to bother you but I have control of my touch-pad again and the funny thing is I didn't do anything really. I was going to do a full system restore so I put the disk in restarted the system let it boot up the restore options and then just before I hit the button to start the full recovery I tried the touch pad and it was fully functional. weird huh. thought you might of wanted to know.
well once again thanks for your time and sorry to bother you.
will
I fully apologize for that everyone, I wasn't really thinking I was so dumbfounded to have the device just come back like that. (which I know that dose not justify the action). I hope I didn't cause anyone wasted energy.
SORRY EVERYONE!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top