1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Synchronize Excel dates with Outlook Calendar

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Jepperdepper, Jan 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jepperdepper

Jepperdepper Thread Starter

Hello. :)

I am currently optimizing the workflow for the ventilation company i work for. (I am a young student worker). And one of my ideas is to synchronize dates of service that has been done to the customers ventilation systems (those dates are listed in Excel with all the other service data) with the offices Outlook Calendar.
    Our clients sign up for yearly service for their ventilation service, however the service engineers are so busy that even though we have a service date (1 year from last service obviously) they might do the job 1 month later than expected. Therefor the dates in the calendar will not be up to date with the last service done.

The service engineers do a service report in Excel after finishing a job. Here they enter the date for when the work has been done. I want this cell where the date has been entered to synchronize with a Outlook Calendar appointment of this particular vent. service. Remember that there are many service reports in different Excel documents.

Is this possible? And how? If not, what if i made a new Excel document which automaticly updates the dates of all the other documents, and then made this document synchronize either automaticly or manually?

I have of course searched the web, and i found this thread which is very close to what i want: http://forums.techguy.org/business-applications/541487-merge-excel-dates-into-outlook.html

The problem is; in that thread they talk about some code like everyone would know. Sadly I have no idea what that code is or where to put it. :(