1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

System Busy Waiting for Close Dialog Box

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by granthewson, Jan 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. granthewson

    granthewson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    My computer has a habbit of freezing whenever I run the majority of my diagnostic programs. The most common programs that freeze are Windows ScanDisk and Disk Defragmenter and Norton Speed Disk. This also happens whenever I try to load Word 2000.
    I try using Ctrl-Alt-Del to close the program using task manager but I presented with a blue screen. It says that my the SYSTEM IS BUSY WAITING FOR THE CLOSE BOX DIALOG.
    Pressing any key only returns me to the blue screen and the only way to get my computer working again is to use Ctrl-Alt-Del or the reset button.
    My computer specs are:

    Pentium 4 1.5Ghz
    256Mb RAM
    55 Gb Hard Drive
    NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 100/200 Graphics Card
    OS - Windows ME

    If anyone knows why this is happening can you please tell me as I really need to use Word - and I feel like taking a very large sledge hammer to my computer!
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi granthewson

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  3. Hairy

    Hairy

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    574
    Welcome to TSG granthewson,

    right click "My Computer" right after you restart and select properties....
    Performance

    what 's you percent of resources?
    Speed disk and defrag do the same thing, you don't need to use both.
     
  4. granthewson

    granthewson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    First off - Cheers for trying to help to both of you.

    After a restart - my system resources are at 75%

    My start list is below:


    StartupList report, 05/01/2003, 10:33:59 pm
    StartupList version: 1.50
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TABLET.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PQSC\PROGRAM\SCTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\DCFSSVC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\IOMEGA\DRIVEICONS\IMGICON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\WT\UPDATER\WCMDMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\TMENTOR\MENTOR FOR WINME\MINITRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\KODAK\KODAK PICTURE TRANSFER SOFTWARE\PTS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Mentor Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\tMentor\Mentor for WinMe\minitray.exe
    EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    KODAK Picture Transfer Software.lnk = C:\Program Files\Kodak\KODAK Picture Transfer Software\pts.exe
    Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SecondChance = C:\PQSC\PROGRAM\SCTRAY.EXE
    Dcfssvc = C:\WINDOWS\System32\Drivers\dcfssvc.exe
    Tweak UI = RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    Iomega Startup Options = C:\Program Files\Iomega\Common\ImgStart.exe
    Iomega Drive Icons = C:\Program Files\Iomega\DriveIcons\ImgIcon.exe
    NvCplDaemon = RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    nwiz = nwiz.exe /install
    NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    ccApp = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    ccRegVfy = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    wcmdmgr = C:\WINDOWS\wt\updater\wcmdmgrl.exe -launch

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    SSDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    *StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    RegisterDropHandler = C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTBR~1.0\BIN\REGIST~1.EXE
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    Tablet = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Tablet.exe
    NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    ccEvtMgr = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
    StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    [>{22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\inf\unregmp2.exe /ShowWMP

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 4/1/2003, 21:35:16)

    [Rename]
    NUL=C:\WIN386.SWP
    C:\WINDOWS\system.bak=C:\WINDOWS\system.dat
    C:\WINDOWS\user.bak=C:\WINDOWS\user.dat
    C:\WINDOWS\system.dat=C:\WINDOWS\system.pak
    C:\WINDOWS\user.dat=C:\WINDOWS\user.pak
    C:\WINDOWS\classes.bak=C:\WINDOWS\classes.dat
    C:\WINDOWS\classes.dat=C:\WINDOWS\classes.pak

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
    SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
    SET PATH=C:\BITWARE\
    SET CLASSPATH=C:\PROGRA~1\PHOTOD~1.1\ADOBEC~1

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    @C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

    @echo off
    REM
    REM

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E}
    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LINKMGR.DLL - {92CBA277-292B-461f-9DEA-67A5C834E101}
    NAV Helper - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}
    (no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job
    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\SWFLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [AJ Installer Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ASKBARAC.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://sp.ask.com/docs/toolbar/download/AskBar-inst.cab

    [ActiveGL Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\MODELV~1.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://nl.mirrors.gtaskins.com/viewer/modelviewer.ocx

    [IntraLaunch.MainControl]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\INTRALAUNCH.OCX
    CODEBASE = file://D:\SuperCD\IntraLaunch.CAB

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Winsock LSP files:

    NameSpace #2: C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll
    Protocol #1: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #2: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #9: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL
    Protocol #10: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NEWDOTNET\NEWDOTNET4_50.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 9,067 bytes
    Report generated in 0.304 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  5. Hairy

    Hairy

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    574
    The scurfballs at NewDot Net are nice enough to give instuctions on how to uinstall their crappy spyware software
    http://www.newdotnet.com/

    if you don't do it right, you will lose your internet connection.

    Spy bot Search and Destroy may be a program for you to run to look for other bad stuff
    http://spybot.eon.net.au/
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi granthewson

    Hairy said it all - uninstall newdotnet from the control panel - see Hairy's link to newdotnet above - do this first

    Then run spybot - here's a few tips :- spybot

    click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

    Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

    you may have to run spybot more than once to clear everything

    steam
     
  7. granthewson

    granthewson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Cheers for your suggestions - I've uninstalled NewDotNet and used SpyBot. And so far so good, well almost.
    All my diagnostic programs have yet to freeze Windows whenever I use them. However, Word 2000 still refuses to work.

    Windows freezes a few seconds after the splash screen is displayed. When I use Ctrl-Alt-Del - I am again presented with the blue screen saying that the System Is Busy Waiting for the Close Box Dialog Box to Appear. When I press any key, Windows trys to reload but the screen is black and a message box is displayed. Is says that the System is dangerously low on resourses and that I should close some programs. Even though after booting my system resources are at an average of 70%.
    I've used Norton System Doctor to monitor the system resources, and right before it freezes it registers at 65 - 70%.

    Your help has been much appreciated and I am greatful for your advice.

    If you have any idea of how I can get Word to work, it would be brilliant. Cheers.
     
  8. Hairy

    Hairy

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    574
    system resources at 70% on a fresh reboot point to one thing....
    You have too much stuff loading at startup....it should be in the 90's

    look to "Optimize"....
    http://www.aumha.org/articles.htm

    http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/

    tell me about Word refusing to work.......

    ditch System Doctor, it eats resources and you already know that you have a problem.

    "I am again presented with the blue screen saying that the System Is Busy Waiting for the Close Box Dialog Box to Appear"........low on resources, you only get so much before you have to restart to get them back
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111566

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice