System clock does not match local time

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hansmax

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Messages
690
I'm trying to get an HP laptop running Win7 to see a desktop running WinXP on my network (both wired and wireless) When I run the troubleshooter in Win7, it tells me "system clock does not match local time" as the reason. I have a Belkin wireless router attached to my cable router. I have updated the system clock via the internet on the desktop and checked the time setting in BIOS. These seem to match. I have googled around on this and can't find any accounts similar. My son's Vista laptop and the Win7 laptop have seen each other since day one. The laptop and desktop did see each other at one time, but the connection was lost after I went to a hotel and changed public network settings temporarily. I can ping the desktop from the laptop, but it times out when pinging the laptop from the desktop. I'm running an avast firewall on both, but can't see a problem there. Any insights would be appreciated.
 

hansmax

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Messages
690
Sorry, but I don't think that's it. It's kind of weird that nobody else seems to have had this problem. Can't seem to find anything anywhere that relates to clock time and networking problems related to it. Thanks for responding osarius.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
2,637
have you tried a system restore on the laptop prior to changing to public network?, tried with firewalls off?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
88
Are the computers wired, or wireless?

...on my network (both wired and wireless) When I run...
seems a bit ambiguous.

Try connecting the two computers directly to each other with a crossover LAN cable. (You will have to change the IP settings for the LAN connection manually.) If you can try this, we can try to narrow it down.
 

hansmax

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Messages
690
The temporary switch to the public network was almost a year ago. I will try the firewall trick. The desktop is wired into the wireless router. The laptop is wireless, but it doesn't work when you wire it into the router, either. Maybe I can try it again, since I can now see the desktop on the laptop, but it still will not connect. Says something about the name not being correct, which is not the case. I was able to see the desktop after following the suggestion of another individual to check the time zone setting of the router utility, which was incorrect. After setting it correct, I could see the desktop on the laptop, but not any shared folders. As to the crossover cable, it would take me a few days to get hold of one, so that's out for the near future. Could make one, I guess, but don't have connectors.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
20
to set computer to accurate time, search, download, install, and run 'atomtime' which is a free program which will sync your computer's clock to the atomic clock in Colorado, USA. if that doesnt work, others can help... regards... g.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top