system configurations??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
Hello...after starting my older computer it starts downloading and then it stops on system configurations.....at the bottom of the screen it says...invalid system disk...replace the disk, and then press any key......uuuuuggggg!!!! what disk...they tried windows again and nothing...please tell me what they did to my other computer...it was nice having another to fall back on and now we don't.....:( thank-you for any help you can give me on this matter.... Vicki
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
First make sure there is no floppy disk in the floppy drive, as that will result in an "invalid system disk" error.

Some times doing a sys c: from a boot disk (you must use one for the Windows version installed), will set things straight

See the info in the link below.

http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000229.htm

If you don't have a boot disk for the machine, you can create one from the files at www.bootdisk.com

Use a blank, formatted floppy and create the boot disk by running the install program you download -- just follow the prompts.

And welcome to TSG :)
 

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
Co-Processor:Installed Extended Memory:23552K
CPU Clock:90MHz Cache Memory:512K
Diskette Drive A:1044M,3.5 in. Display Type:EGA/VGA
Diskette DriveB:None Serial Ports:3F8 2F8
Pri.MasterDisk:LBA,Mode4,1282MB ParallelPorts:378
Pri.SlaveDisk:CDROM,Mode3 Bank0DRAMType:EDO
Sec.MasterDisk:None Bank1DRAMYtpe:FP
SecSlaveDisk:None Bank2DRAMType:None
PCI device listing.....
BusNo.DeviceNo.FuncNo.VendorID DeviceID IRQ
0 1 1 1039 5513 14
Device Class
IDE Controller


Invalid system disk
Replace the disk, and then press any key
OK THIS IS WHAT MY SCREEN SAYS...THANKS TO ALL FOR YOU SUPPORT EARLIER..I TRIED THE DWNLD OF WINDOWS ON A FLOPPY , BUT IT STILL TELLS ME THE SAME THING .....I HATE BEING COMPUTER ILLITERATE!! HELP ME!! PLEASE......THANKS ...VICKI:confused:
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Please respond to this thread and not create new ones with your replies.

Did you run the file you downloaded so it extracted the files to a floppy disk. Just copying the file to the floppy won't work, it needs to be ran to uncompress the files.

Leaving the disk in the floppy drive and restarting the machine did you see the machine try to access the floppy drive, you should have noticed it trying to read the disk.
 

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
I hope I'm posting a reply instead of creating a new thread for god's sake!!!!!! I told you I was computer illiterate....forgive me!!! :rolleyes: I'm going to let my daughter tell you what happened....Okay, Initially the computer said that a file called "HIMEM.SYS" was missing, so I grabbed the boot disk and popped it in. The computer said I had to choose what to fix so I chose the partition files(or something like that) and the boot file or something. Then, once you started the computer it would say Invalid system disk(refering to the C drive). I decided to change the boot sequence from "C,A,SCSI" to "A,C,SCSI". So, I placed the Windows98 boot disk into the A drive and it loaded and said that it was preparing to start my computer (which it didn't) but i was able to get to the command prompt, then i typed "SYS.COM" which i was told to do by my working computer and the computer said " required parameter missing" so that is where we stand as of now. Apparently the C drive is an invalid system disk. Yes, I RAN the disks. Thank-You, Ashlie
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
running Sys.com makes the Hard Drive a system disk.
The command for that, from the A prompt. is
sys C: Press enter
after you have started the computer with the bootdisk in the floppy drive. This transfers the system files to the disk->>system disk
However, if you are missing Himem.sys that has to be transferred seperately to the Windows Folder. That command is(from the A prompt)
Copy Himem.sys C:\windows Press enter

When you use the bootdisk it does start your computer. It just doesn't start Windows. It gets you to the A:\> (A Prompt)

It will ask you if you want CD support. Say no to that.
 

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
Mosaic 1....thank-you....now it says :
Bad command or file name
path not found-:\COMMAND.COM
File not found-extract.exe
File not found-readme.txt
Please insert Windows 98 Startup Disk 2
Press any key to continue....
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
let's start over. Go here to Download the bootdisk for your operating system.
http://www.user-friendly.net/download/download.htm

Download the bootdisk to your desktop and then find the exe file. For instance boot98se.exe if you have win98 Second edition. Put a clean floppy in the Drive and double click on the exe file to create a bootdisk.
Start the problem computer with the boot floppy in the drive. Do not accept CD support when it asks.

At the prompt type
Sys C: Press enter
You should get a message saying system transferred.
Next step.
This command
copy Himem.sys C:\windows

Make sure you press the spacebar after sys. Like this:
copy (spacebar) Himem.sys (Spacebar) C:\windows
Press enter
At the next prompt type this:
C: and press enter

that should get you to a C prompt. Looks like this:
C:\>
Remove the boot floppy from the drive.
Type win and press enter
or press CTRL+ALT+DEL
That will start Windows if it worked.
 

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
I'm sure you are getting tired of me , but, I did what you said step by step and we are still at the same place ..and if you press a key it says :

Please insert Windows 98 Startup Disk 2
Press any key to continue...

Thanks M
 

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
OK...went to the site and sure enough that's just what it is doing....we did what it said to do and now we are back at
Co-Processor:Installed Extended Memory:23552K
CPU Clock:90MHz Cache Memory:512K
Diskette Drive A:1044M,3.5 in. Display Type:EGA/VGA
Diskette DriveB:None Serial Ports:3F8 2F8
Pri.MasterDisk:LBA,Mode4,1282MB ParallelPorts:378
Pri.SlaveDisk:CDROM,Mode3 Bank0DRAMType:EDO
Sec.MasterDisk:None Bank1DRAMYtpe:FP
SecSlaveDisk:None Bank2DRAMType:None
PCI device listing.....
BusNo.DeviceNo.FuncNo.VendorID DeviceID IRQ
0 1 1 1039 5513 14
Device Class
IDE Controller
except for telling us invalid system disk it says:
C:\>
is this where we want to be???
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
I think so. Go back and read my post with the directions to transfer the system files and Himem.sys. After you do that, see if you can start Windows.
It's late here and I am about to sign off. I know others will be along to help you out.
Good luck.
 

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
hello again...now it says :
required parameter missing


what the heck????
Goodnight to Mosaic 1 , and thanks for all your help tonight....anyone else want to take this on?

Any ideas???
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
After loading the startup disk you should be at the a:\> prompt

It is from there that you enter

sys c:

if you did it from the c:\> prompt, that would explain the message.

If you get the "system files transferred" message, then remove the boot disk and do a ctrl-alt-del to restart.

If you continue to get that error message, enter:

fdisk /status

and verify that your partition and drive space is properly recognized and reported.
 

vjkelton

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
12
OK Rolling....thanks...it says system transferred
then we were told to type in:
copy Himem.sys C:\windows
and then it asks: Overwrite C:\windows (Yes/No/All)?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top