System crashes before boot is completed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

j_hello

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2003
Messages
7
hi guys,

hoping you can help me. for some reason my pc is shutting down before it can even boot up. although, it's not as much as a shutdown as more like the power supply had been cut off. it just goes dead a mere few seconds after being switched on. i had a similar problem a couple of weeks back, which saw my pc boot up in safe mode and a shutdown occuring before boot up was completed if started in normal mode. i resorted to format the c drive and it solved the problem. now it won't even start up in safe mode.

i'm running windows ME and i had my system set to boot from the c drive rather than the floppy or cd rom. i have a second HDD as the slave. i cannot even get as far as to change advanced settings in order to change boot up from the second HDD, the floppy or cd.

please, any one? as to cause or solution?
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
what about a win me startup disk? i might not know what im talking about, but i have a disk in my little collection labeled "winme sartup disk- use if winme wont start in safe mode" i dont even remember creating it, and it might have more to do with system restore, but who knows?
 

j_hello

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2003
Messages
7
thanks kerri,

i tried switching my pc on, but holding down the power button and restart button together and for some reason it booted up. it seems to be ok now, but i will bear in my mind your advice.:)

thanks again, john
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
ME has restore points. IF you have them turned on.
Other wise, from DOS you can use scanreg /restore.

Never having run ME, I'm not 100% sure that scanreg /restore will work for ME. IF not, it will let you know when you try to run it.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
IF you can get it up and runing, we can take a look to see if there is anything bad in your start ups.

Go to http://tomcoyote.org/hjt/ and download HiJackThis. Use Winzip to ]u]unzip[/u] it, then install and run it. To run, click the “Scan” button. When it's done the "Scan" button changes to "Save Log". Save the log file it creates (it should open in Notepad at that point). Copy and paste the results in your next post. Most of what it finds is harmless, so do not do anything yet. Someone will be glad to help you sort out any of the baddies that may be in there.
 

j_hello

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2003
Messages
7
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.1
Scan saved at 12:44:33, on 11/09/2003
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\KERIO\PERSONAL FIREWALL\PERSFW.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SISTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KHOOKER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PCI AUDIO APPLICATIONS\MIXER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DLA\TFSWCTRL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\GSICON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DSLAGENT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\REAL\REALPLAYER\REALPLAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SWEEPER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\DISTILLR\ACROTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL 8.0A\WAOL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AOL 8.0A\SHELLMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.aol.co.uk/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&ar=iesearch
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd={SUB_PRD}&clcid={SUB_CLSID}&pver={SUB_PVER}&ar=home
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&ar=iesearch
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.aol.co.uk
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&ar=iesearch
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\ACROBAT\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SiS Tray] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SISTRAY.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SiS KHooker] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\khooker.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C-Media Mixer] C:\Program Files\PCI Audio Applications\Mixer.exe /startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dla] C:\WINDOWS\system\dla\tfswctrl.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [GSICONEXE] gsicon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DSLAGENTEXE] dslagent.exe USB
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Internet Sweeper] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SWEEPER.EXE /Q
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [PersFw] "C:\Program Files\Kerio\Personal Firewall\persfw.exe" /hide
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Startup: Acrobat Assistant.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Distillr\AcroTray.exe
O4 - Startup: AOL 8.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\AOL 8.0a\aoltray.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: LimeShop Preferences - file://C:\Program Files\LimeShop\System\Temp\limeshop_script0.htm
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.aol.co.uk
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/bcd48c18cb7498/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {2119776A-F1AD-4FCD-9548-F1E1C615350C} - http://www.stop-sign.com/pub/download/scandl_cnry.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: Domain = aoldsl.net

 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
The good news is, I don't see anything bad in your log.
Two comments

I’m not a fan of Real products because of all the spyware it contains and their deceptive policies

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER

This is a known resource hog

O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
 

j_hello

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2003
Messages
7
i'll uninstall realplayer and if i delete office.ink will the program still run ok?

thanks again, john.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
The programs will run fine. You will just have to start them either by clicking on the file to open Word, Excel, and so on, or by using the Start > Program Menu

The choice to delete the office shortcut bar is yours. I was just pointing out that it is a resource hog.

I use it from time to time, but not from start up. I start it from an icon.

Hope that helps.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top