System Disc Missing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

angelprude

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
31
Windows Vista machine stopped booting and is asking to install windows installtion disc.
I don't have one.
I do have Win2000 and XP (Which I prefer)
I tried to install Ubuntu which someone recommended and it stops at the DOS prompt.

I don't like Vista Can anyone help
Thanks
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
Help you to like Vista? Help to install or boot one of those OSes?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
I guess I can help by trying to get you to tell us what you want to do. What operating system do you want to install (you mentioned 4 in your 1st post)? Do you have a legitimate installation disk for it? Or, if it's Vista, do you have a Recovery partition or disks?
 

angelprude

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
31
I do not have a Vista disc. It's a newer Lenovo desktop. Did not come w/ OS
I have legitimate XP and 2000
Which do you recommend?
The error is a (windows32 config system)

Thanks for the help
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
155
Do you have more then one Hard Disk? If so make sure the one with the operating system is above the other in the boot order.

If you don't have more then one Hard Disk it may be that the one you have might be corrupt, or dead. Does it show up on the POST screen, if yes, then Run a Sector Scan on it.

As for operating systems
Windows XP is much better then 2000, go with that if you want to downgrade, however Vista isn't all bad, I love mine!

Hope this helps.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
I too advise XP over 2k Pro. Much better chance that drivers exist. You may save yourself some time to see if the chipset and other drivers you need are available for XP before you install it.

Strange that the PC came w/o a Recovery partition. It's my understanding that Microsoft requires that a new PC with Windows includes some way to reinstall or "recover" Windows.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top