System does not see available wifi

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BrettH

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
24
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20200129031050.000000-420
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 8
Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
Graphics Card: Microsoft Basic Display Adapter
Hard Drives: C: 909 GB (457 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z87X-UD5H-CF, ver x.x, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
Antivirus: Norton Security, Disabled

Quick summary, installed my old harddrive into, a new to me mobo and cpu and case.

I can't connect to the web, the system does not see the available wifi. I am running the latest Bios 2017 10e, and latest Lan drivers from Gigabyte site. I have also removed the system battery and reinstalled after 5 minutes. In device manager, an unknown device had a yellow triangle and I tried to use LAN driver update with no success.

What would be my next action step?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,057
Did that hard drive already have Windows 10 Home 64-bit installed in it when you put it in that Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H motherboard?

That Intel Core i7-4770K processor has an integrated Intel HD Graphics 4600 graphics device.
That graphics device doesn't appear to have its driver installed.

-------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:

BrettH

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
24
Yes windows 10 home was on old hardrive. I will download and update the graphics driver.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,057
If that hard drive containing Windows 10 Home 64-bit came from another motherboard and is now being used in that Gigabyte motherboard, you're going to run into other problems besides drivers.

--------------------------------------------------
 

BrettH

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
24
Update, the driver from intel would not load, the reason was the driver was not validated for the computer

FYI my old system was INTEL CORE i5 4440 3.10 GHz HASWELL SOCKET 1150 LGA MOTHERBOARD Dell 088DT1 HASWELL H81 with 16Gb DDR3 AT 800 MHz Windows 10 home.
 
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
32
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 18363, Installed 20200129031050.000000-420
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 8
Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
Graphics Card: Microsoft Basic Display Adapter
Hard Drives: C: 909 GB (457 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z87X-UD5H-CF, ver x.x, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n To be filled by O.E.M.
Antivirus: Norton Security, Disabled

Quick summary, installed my old harddrive into, a new to me mobo and cpu and case.

I can't connect to the web, the system does not see the available wifi. I am running the latest Bios 2017 10e, and latest Lan drivers from Gigabyte site. I have also removed the system battery and reinstalled after 5 minutes. In device manager, an unknown device had a yellow triangle and I tried to use LAN driver update with no success.

What would be my next action step?
Lan drivers are for wired connection. I don't think that mother board has WiFi. I can only see information for the Z87X-UD5H original and don't see "CF" version of revision. The original doesn't have WiFi built into the board so you'd need a WiFi card or usb adapter if that's the case
 

BrettH

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
24
I believe Mukith82 was correct and the Z87X doesn't have built in wifi, I purchased a WiFi card and installed and I am pleased to announce I now have internet access. Odd that the newer Gigabyte mobo did not have wifi and my older dell did. Thank you flavalee and Mukith82 for your help!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top