1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

System Freezes... Cooling?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by matt.choules, Sep 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matt.choules

matt.choules Thread Starter

Hi,

I have been using my pc for about 2 years (and have been upgrading)... So, currently I have a 2ghz AMD XP Athalon CPU running windows 2000... I have 386mb RAM, fully updated drivers, 1x80mm system fan on the front of my case aswell as a bay cooler. On the back of the case i have an exhaust blower and cooling my CPU i have a tornado fan that is capable of cooling upto a 3ghz processor which is self regulated (from a temp sensor placed between the CPU and fan)...

My question is this:
    Why does my machine keep freezing??

I thought it was overheating before i fitted all the fans, but i obviously have enough cooling now, and my drivers should be the newest they can be (except for my graphics card driver, due to the fact that the newest driver causes picture problems).

Any suggestions welcomed (i am all out of ideas!)

Matt.

2. skyman

skyman

When you say freezing, what is it freezing in?

Have you run scandisk and dfrag?

Hve you run a repair of your Internet Explorer?

Do you have an antivirus program and have you updated your definitions and have you run an antivirus scan?

Do you have a spy catcher program such as Spybot?

Let us know...

3. matt.choules

Right, the whole system stops responding. No blue screen nothing... It usually happens when there is something draining the CPU (i.e. a movie or music with funky visuals), but sometimes i will wake up and its frozen when there is nothing more running than kazaa (and background programs i.e. Norton).

I'm then forced to restart (not even a crtl+alt+dlte).