1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

System Freezes Up

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by KenEMJr, Nov 10, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KenEMJr

    KenEMJr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    I've been having trouble with my system freezing up. My pointer begins to slow down, or if I haven't used the computer for a while the screen saver starts to slow down after about an hour. It's like something is running in the background that I can't find. Any ideas? Some friends suggested I didn't have enough memory ( I only had 64) so I upgraded to 256, but it didn't help.

    Here's my system info:

    Microsoft Windows 98 4.10.1998
    Upgrade using Full OEM CD /T:C:\WININST0.400 /SrcDir=C:\CABS C:\CABS\MSBATCH.INF /IW /IS /P c- /IZ /II /NR /II /C /U:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    IE 5 5.50.4807.2300
    Uptime: 0:00:17:02
    Normal mode
    On "COMPUTER" as
    Gateway, Inc.
    GenuineIntel Pentium(r) II Processor Intel MMX(TM) Technology
    256MB RAM
    75% system resources free
    Windows-managed swap file on drive C (4625MB free)
    Available space on drive C: 4625MB of 6137MB (FAT32)


    I really don't know what else to post. Would really appreciate any help I could receive.
     
  2. Kento

    Kento

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,004
    Sounds like you may have a resource problem.

    1. Run a virus scan with updated definitions or do it here: http://housecall.antivirus.com/

    2. Download and run Ad-aware (free) and see if you have any spyware that may be causing the problem: www.lavasoftusa.com

    3. click start--run--type msinfo32 and click ok. Doubleclick on software environment then doubleclick on startup programs. Then click edit--select all--edit--copy. Then come here, right click in your reply window and select paste. This will let us see what programs you have running.
     
  3. KenEMJr

    KenEMJr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks for the reply.

    I've got AdAware and the only thing I had on my system was that "double click" crap. I cleaned it, but no effect.

    Also tried that on-line scan about two days ago and my system showed no virus.

    Here's the other info:

    Office Startup Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE" -b
    EnsoniqMixer Registry (Machine Run) starter.exe
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    POINTER Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~1\point32.exe
    Multi-function Keyboard Registry (Machine Run) GWHotKey.exe
    PP3100b Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\twain_32\paprport\3100b\flatbed.exe
    Alogserv Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\alogserv.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    McAfeeVirusScanService Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avsynmgr.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe


    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. KenEMJr

    KenEMJr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    OK. I guess I stumped everyone with this problem.

    I was talking to a mechanic at my city's repair shop and he suggested something simple ........ heat. He suggested that my computer may need some airflow over the circuits inside. When I spoke to some of my co-workers they agreed after discussung how my computer has only a single vent fan on the case and nothing on the inside. One even told me of a friend who removed the outer case on his comp and pointed a small fan at it.

    Think I'm grasping at straws here?
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,205
    Hiya

    Lets look at the startup:

    EnsoniqMixer: Puts the Ensonic mixer in system tray. Not required

    ScanRegistry: Keep

    SystemTray: Keep

    POINTER: For your mouse. Keep

    Multi-function Keyboard: Software that sets up the Gateway AnyKey keyboard shortcuts (a series of buttons that allow one-click access to e-mail, browser, volume and CD/DVD controls, etc). Your choice

    PP3100b: Your scanner?

    Alogserv: From McAfee VirusScan for logging scanning activities. It is reported to cause jerky graphics response in many games. Not required

    LoadPowerProfile: Power management specifics such as monitor shut-off, system standby, etc. keep

    McAfeeVirusScanService: Keep

    SchedulingAgent: Microsoft Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray - only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. Recommend you run these at regular intervals anyway so not needed as they can interrupt other programs

    Okay,so there are a few. Go to Run and type MSCONFIG. Startup tab, uncheck all those you don't want, apply and restart.

    If you're unsure, do each seperately, but apply and restart each time.

    As to the fan thing, if its heating up too much, then this could be an issue.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Try one of these two methods. From start, run msconfig

    Click on the "startup" tab and clear the check for alogserv. This is a McAfee logging file (not required) which runs in the background is known to cause excessive cpu use and slow downs of the type you describe.

    Alternately you can disable it by doing a ctrl-alt-del and end tasking it. This would have to be done every time you restart though.

    Some screen savers themselves can cause problems by not releasing memory properly. I would try keeping that disabled for a while.
     
  7. KenEMJr

    KenEMJr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10
    I finally got an answer for my problem. Well, at least it's solved, I don't really understand it though.


    I got in touch with the computer guy at my work and he said if I was running the first edition of Win98 it was a "memory leak" and that it was common with Win98. He proceeded to explain it to me, but it was WAY over my head. The only thing I even remotely understood was that I had a problem with my system resources. He went on to give me Win98SE and I uninstalled Win98 and installed Win98SE.

    Problem solved.
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I would have bet the farm on McAfee and alogserv, but thanks for the follow-up :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58203

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice