System hangs during boot after installing PureOS 9 (Ideapad)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

davidpluseipi

David
Hi, I'm pretty new at Linux so I'm hoping someone here might be able to help. :)

I got a new Lenovo Ideapad Flex 14 and booted from a USB with a pureOS 9 .iso (based on Debian 10), and as far as I could tell the install went fine, but after I removed the usb and rebooted (like you're supposed to do), the boot up screens shows the following and then just stops after it repeats the "halmac_init_hal failed" a few times.

ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve [\_SB.PCI0.GPP2.BCM5], AE_NOT_FOUND (20180810/dswload2-160)
ACPI Error: AE_NOT_FOUND, During name lookup/catalog (20180810/psobject-221)
ACPI Error: Ignore error and continue table load (20180810/psobject-604)
ACPI Error: Skip parsing opcode OpcodeName unavailable (20180810/psloop-543)
AMD-Vi: Unable to write to IOMMU perf counter.
mmc0: Unknown controller version (3). You may experience problems.

[The first time it would stop there and then open a new blank screen and print "halmac_init_hal failed" every few seconds and then stop after like 5-6 lines of it. I then downloaded rtl8822befw.bin (on another machine) and booted the ideapad to to the installation media again and then put the .bin in /lib/firmware/rtlwifi. Now the first screen that comes up includes the above errors AND this stuff...]

r8822be 0000:0200.0: firmware: failed to load rtlwifi/rtl8822befw.bin (-2)
firmware_class: See https://wiki.debian.org/Firmware for information about missing firmware
r8822be: Selected firmware is not available
bluetooth hci0: firmware: failed to load rtl_bt/rtl8822b_fw.bin (-2)
Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: firmware file rtl_bt/rtl8822b_fw.bin not found

r8822be: halmac_init_hal failed

Help me someone.... you're my only hope. ;)

Attachments

Macboatmaster