System Resources

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ocnblu74

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
33
:cool: Problem with my Pentium III: Past 2 weeks, it's been in running on low system resources, mouse drags or pauses when I select, media player jumps when playing, can't open A drive and thumbnails or pics are shown when I select a website, must do right click to see them. I have 256mg RAM, 30gb and 5 gb hard drives with more than half space free on both drives. The resources meter is always in the yellow and at times, Im locked up. What can I do to repair system? Please, please help.
Thank you in advance for anyone's response.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Welcome ocnblu74,
Clear your temp internet files, Go to start run type in msconfig
Go to start up tab and see what is running. If you could post those we can help you better.
 

ocnblu74

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
33
TW56, there's many that's running, so here it goes:
TClockEx(clock program)
Scan Registry,Task Monitor,System Tray,Load Power Profile,Tray Temperature(Weatherbug),Ram Idle,HPDJ Taskbar utility,WinampAgent,TweakUI,NetzipFolders,RealTray,Gator,
AdaptecDirectCD,Download Accelerator,Creator CD,LoadPowerProfile(2nd one which is Rundll32.exe,powerprof.dll,load currentPwrScheme,both say same)Scheduling Agent,SSDPSrv,State Mgr,True Vector(Zonelabs),Minilog(Zonelabs)McafeeWebScanX and Virus Scan Service,Zonealarm,Internet Answering Machine(CallWave),TechTracker Pro for Windows,Deskflag,Webshots,Aol7.0 TrayIcon,MS shortcut bar,Post-It Notes Lite. TW, whatever info you can provide, I will be surely appreciative. And I always delete the temporary internet files before I log off system.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Ocnblu74,

Uncheck the following items:

Task Monitor, Tray Temperature (optional), Ram Idle (not much use), HPDJ Taskbar utility, WinampAgent, NetzipFolders, RealTray , Gator (spyware as well), Download Accelerator (optional), Create CD, SSDPSrv, Aol7.0 TrayIcon, Internet Answering Machine(optional), TechTracker Pro for Windows, Deskflag, and Webshots.

Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.

And it's alway good to empty the ENTIRE contents of your C:\Windows\Temp folder regularly.

To keep RealTray from starting up again, go to RP/View/Preferences/Start Center/Settings, and disable Start Center.


Good luck,
 

ocnblu74

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
33
:p TW, did what you recommended and the mouse works fine, system resources are better, but do I have a bad floppy drive drive because when I try to save to the A drive, it consistently asks to insert a disk and a grinding noise is heard. Also, how do I resolve the 'no pics' problem when I'm on the internet? Don't want to be a pest, but you gave me some great solutions to my problems. Thank you in advance.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Did you uncheck the programs I advised you to close in Msconfig (if you don't mind me reacting as well?) :D

As for the pictures, go to Tools/Internet Options/Advanced tab, and check 'show pictures'.

Or just click 'default settings' there.
The box at 'Java JIT compiler enabled should also be checked.

Also go to Internet Options/security/internet, and click 'restore defaults'.

Good luck,
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi ocnblu74,
Do what TonyKlein says first. The A drive is your floppy drive. To save to it you must first put in a floppy then you can save to it. Up to 1.44mb. I would also uncheck the MS shortcut bar, and the Adaptec Direct CD
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Originally posted by TW56
Hi ocnblu74,
I would also uncheck the MS shortcut bar, and the Adaptec Direct CD
If this is just about saving resources, you're absolutely right.

If you really like using the MS Office shortcut bar you might however consider keeping it.

And on my system I've found, that when I don't allow Adaptec DirectCD to start up, I lose the possibility of ejecting my CD by rightclicking the drive in My Computer and choosing 'eject'.

Go figure.... :D

Greetz,
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi TonyKlein,
I guess your right. I have mine uncheck but I dont right click to eject either. Good point! Ive also got Scheduling Agent unchecked. But I do Maintenance Manually with Norton!
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi TW56 ,

I've got Scheduling Agent checked, just because Symantec Netdetect needs it to check for virus definition updates for NAV automatically.

If there's no vital running task in there, you could of course also disable Task Scheduler,

Greetz, :)
 

ocnblu74

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
33
:D Ok guys, you both are officially on my Xmas list, anything you want! You have made me very happy and I thank you. One other problem, I am still unable to save to my A drive. And yes, I do put in a floppy beforehand. When trying to save to the drive, it continuously pauses, then asks for a disk even though one is in the drive. I can see it, but unable to access it. Now onto trying the media player and see if it jumps. Any recommendations for the jumping sound?

Just trying to you both busy! Thanks again for all your help, you have saved me from taking my system to the doctor's.
 

ocnblu74

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
33
:D Ok guys, FYI, media player works great. Does it have anything to do with what you've both recommended? No skips or jumps!

You've got me smiling big time!
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
You're welcome! :)

But please explain how you're 'unable to save to your A: drive'.

Doesn't it appear in the 'Send to' section of the context menu you get when rightclicking a file?
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
You may have a corrupt shortcut in C:\Windows\SendTo.

Try this:

Delete the existing shortcut and replace it with a new one:

Open the Send To folder in the Windows directory and drag the old A:/ floppy drive shortcut to the Recycle Bin.
Double Click My Computer, and RIGHT click and drag the A:/ floppy drive into the Send To folder.
When prompted, choose 'Create Shortcut(s) Here'.
Restart the computer.

Good luck,
 

ocnblu74

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Messages
33
Ok, maybe I can explain better with the A drive problem. Clicking and opening 'My Computer' and inserting a floppy to save a word document, the system sounds like its trying to access the drive but never does. I am asked to insert a disk which is already in, then a sound is heard, pause, then sound, then pause, etc. Have I unchecked something mistakenly? I was able to save to the floppy drive a few weeks ago.:D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top