System Resources

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

EllieBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2000
Messages
53
I'm not even sure what my system resources should be running at....

I just went into Msinfo32 - system resources - 66%

The icons on my desktop have changed themselves into other icons. All .doc items are some weird icon now - and when I refresh the desktop, they don't change?

I'm running Win98 2nd
Dell Pentium 3 - 600mgh
RAM - 128

When I boot up in the morning.......I am usually at 92 - 88%

Is there anything wrong with this machine....or is this normal??

Thanks,
Ellie
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
The more programs that run, the lower it gets. Some programs dont release all when turned off, thats why it high when you reboot. First I would suggest clicking the link next to my name for a virus scan and then we will work on getting your resources higher if possible. :)
 

EllieBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2000
Messages
53
Hi........
Thanks for your reply......

I went and did the virus scan.....everything is OK.

I was using PSPro & Homesite today......I didn't reboot - but left the computer on while I was gone.....
System Resources are now - 65%
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
Resources aren’t actually your problem but they are a good indication you have too much stuff running for 128Mb RAM. With my resources in the 65% bracket Norton Utilities reports I am using 130Mb RAM for programs while the computer is just sitting there. Resources in themselves usually aren’t a problem until they get below 20%. I have 512Mb RAM and have no problem getting the resources low.

DoyceJ’s suggestionto cut your startup load will get your RAM use down to where you get decent performance. Don’t get too many programs running at once.
 

EllieBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2000
Messages
53
Thank You all.........

I found a few things running that certainly didn't need to be there.....and I was just thinking about adding RAM.......

so I guess the time has come!

Thanks so much for all your help!

Ellie :p
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Don't add RAM expecting to see more System Resources available.

http://www.aumha.org/a/resource.htm

"The icons on my desktop have changed themselves into other icons. All .doc items are some weird icon now - "

Is this true after booting the PC or do they change after you have been running for a while? If the latter, how many icons do you have on the desktop?
 

EllieBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2000
Messages
53
Thanks for the link...
great info - some I actually understand... :D

However.....now I am back to the question: To RAM or not to RAM?

Desktop icons....are fine when I boot up......they go screwy after I've been using programs for awhile.......usually when I use Paint SHop Pro and Homesite......

How many icons do I have?? :eek:

At least 50 are on my Desktop!!

Thanks,
Ellie
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2000
Messages
1,825
I had way to many Icons on my desktop also, came up with this.

right click desktop, new, folder.

drag all related programs to new folder, I/E Games...put all games in that folder,then rename "games" , same with utilities, etc, etc, I managed to cut my Desktop icons to a fraction of what they were and organize things as well, might try it !,,Rhett
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
7
Originally posted by WhitPhil
Don't add RAM expecting to see more System Resources available.

http://www.aumha.org/a/resource.htm

"The icons on my desktop have changed themselves into other icons. All .doc items are some weird icon now - "

Is this true after booting the PC or do they change after you have been running for a while? If the latter, how many icons do you have on the desktop?


Great Link, Very informative, Thank you
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top