System Restore Not Retaining Restore Points In Vista.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Firstly, I can only create manual restore points in System Restore but they usually disappear
overnight and, as a novice, I am at a loss to understand this.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,020
First reduce the amount of space taken up by system restore.
https://www.winhelp.us/configure-system-restore-in-windows.html
======
Check and post the following.
TSG System Information Utility - found here.
http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe
======
Download Security Check by screen317 from.
http://screen317.spywareinfoforum.org/
Or
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/securitycheck/dl/123/

Save it to your Desktop.
Double click the install icon.
If using Vista - Win 7 - right click the install icon and select "Run as Administrator"
A command Prompt window will open.
Let it scan the Pc - press any key when asked.
It should now open in Notepad.
Copy and Paste the result of the scan in the reply box below.
 

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Thank you.
Only got to the instruction to reduce the amount of space in SR.
In the System Restore Box Available Drive is C but the Configure button
is missing.
The next button after Available Drive is Create where I create the Manual Restore points
but, as mentioned earlier, these are not being retained.
Any idea how I might retrieve the Configure box?
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,020
Any idea how I might retrieve the Configure box?
That I do not know.
The restore point settings may be set too high and you are out of space.
Or the restore points have become corrupted/damaged in some way.
======
To check what security programs you have installed - download the following.
Download Security Check by screen317 from.
http://screen317.spywareinfoforum.org/
Or
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/securitycheck/dl/123/

Save it to your Desktop.
Double click the install icon.
If using Vista - Win 7 - right click the install icon and select "Run as Administrator"
A command Prompt window will open.
Let it scan the Pc - press any key when asked.
It should now open in Notepad.
Copy and Paste the result of the scan in the reply box below.
 

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

That was the message I got when I tried to download the security check.
I have no problem running command prompts as administrator, and am the only one who uses
this machine.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,020
Ok, you may have more problems that we need to overcome.
We need to know what security programs you have installed and running.
Not been able to access system restore correctly can be related to spyware.
Can you download the following?
Mini Tool Box
Click on Download Now
@Bleeping Computer


Download to your desktop.
Double Click on the Mini Toolbox icon.
Put a Tick in

Installed Programs
List Last 10 Event Viewers Errors
List content of Host


Leave the Tick in Only Problems - under List Devices
Click Go and let it scan your Pc.
It will then open in Notepad - copy and paste the log file here.
======
If you cannot do the above - list what anti-virus/spyware programs that you have installed.
Are they updated and have you scanned your pc with them?
 

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Got the Security Check going.
Was running during your post.
When I try to copy the word copy is greyed out.
Paste is retaining a site from earlier in the day.
Yet, when I come back here both Copy and Paste are highlighted.
The site from earlier on seems to be stuck in paste.
Report is ready.
 
Last edited:

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Results of screen317's Security Check version 1.009
Windows Vista Service Pack 2 x86 (UAC is enabled)
Internet Explorer 9
Internet Explorer 8
``````````````Antivirus/Firewall Check:``````````````
Windows Firewall Enabled!
Panda Free Antivirus
WMI entry may not exist for antivirus; attempting automatic update.
`````````Anti-malware/Other Utilities Check:`````````
SpywareBlaster 5.0
Spybot - Search & Destroy
SUPERAntiSpyware
JavaFX 2.1.1
Java 7 Update 80
Java 8 Update 25
Java 8 Update 45
Java 8 Update 60
Adobe Flash Player 20.0.0.267
Adobe Reader XI
Mozilla Firefox (43.0.3)
Google Chrome (49.0.2593.0)
Google Chrome (49.0.2612.0)
````````Process Check: objlist.exe by Laurent````````
`````````````````System Health check`````````````````
Total Fragmentation on Drive C: 1 %
````````````````````End of Log``````````````````````
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,020
Download MalwareBytes to your desktop.
Download the Free version.
MalwareBytes
Once downloaded to your desktop.
Close all open browser windows.

Click on the Install icon - allow it to update during the install process.
Start Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
Before you run a scan.
Under Settings > Detection and Protection in the left pane.
Under Detection Options - make sure that all three entries are ticked
Under Non-Malware detections - set to Treat detections as Malware

Now click - Scan button.
Then select - Threat Scan.
Then - Scan Now.
If any infections are found during the scan, the number of them will be listed.
When the scan is finished, make sure to select and remove Everything in the list.
You may be prompted to restart to finish the removal process.
If Yes - restart your Pc.

Start Malwarebytes Anti-Malware again.
Click History > Application Logs.
Select the most recent scan log.
Click View.
Select Export >Text File.
Name it mbam > then save it on the desktop.
Copy-and-paste its contents in the reply box below.
 

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Just an update.
Malwarebytes has just finished after nearly an hour and a half.
Was showing 0 threats all the time but ended up with 6 Trojans.
Usually Malwarebytes shows all clear.
As it is quite late I will have to leave it at that for tonight.
I will remove the threats and restart the machine.
Tomorrow I will run the scan again and I will post results as requested.
Many thanks for your time and your patience.
ps Typing this on a different machine as windows are closed in Vista.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,020
Post the result of the scan 2morrow.
If it is showing that you had 6 Trojans!
We may need help from one of our Malware Removal Experts to check that your pc clean
 

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Scan did not come up clean this time either, although it was non malware.
There was a total of 26 PUPs.
Unusually, the restore point created yesterday was not lost overnight, and is
still intact.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,020
Malwarebytes is a good program for removing spyware, etc.
However, you may have other infections that were not completely removed by Malwarebytes.

Post the log file from Malwarebytes that listed the 6 Trojans
Start Malwarebytes again.
Click History > Application Logs.
Select the scan log file that listed the 6 Trojans.

Click View.
Select Export > Text File.
Name it mbam > then save it on the desktop.
Copy and-paste its contents in the reply box below.
 

OneTrueFriend

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 22, 2009
Messages
128
Thanks.
I haven't seen View, but clicking on the file has brought up History Log
with the word Export on the bottom but I don't see an option to save to desktop.
Afraid that I am confused here.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top