System restore not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
I probably used up all of my "helps" with Mar's computer problems but I also have a question to ask about my own computer. :eek:

I have a Dell with WinXP

I had DSL Lite installed on April 24th...LOVE IT! Since then, i've downloaded the latest Acrobat reader 8, as well as updated my Firefox and a few other programs. I've noticed that its been starting to slow down a lot. My email screen takes awhile to pop up. I uninstalled Acrobat and Firefox and got the older versions back but its still slow.

I decided to restore to April 25th. But I get a message saying "unable to restore this point". Tried another date, got the same message.

I dont have Norton antivirus. I have AVG. Could something in that be preventing my restore? I also have my firewall on in my control panel. Should I temporarily shut that off to restore?

Thanks for any advice.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,723
Hi One of your restore points may be corrupted which can prevent other restore points from working.
You may have clear All restore points..and look elsewhere for your system slowing down.

Right click My Computer>properties.
Click on system restore tab.
Select Turn off System Restore>click Apply and restart Pc.
This will delete all restore points.
Once restarted..go back to System Restore tab and deselect Turn off System Restore.
Now click Start menu.
Programs>accessories>system tools>System Restore.
Choose the option Create a restore point.
Enter a description.
Click Create.
 

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
blues_harp28 said:
Click Create.
I understood everything up to this point. Once I click create...then what? How will that do anything to speed up my computer? :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
Hi Valley!

It won't, but it will get your System Restore operational, hopefully. I would run CCleaner, it's free, and it'll get rid of tons of crap. Next, I run a defrager. I use Diskeeper Lite. That should help speed it up. BTW when was the last time you defraged?

Do you have Registry Mechanic? I'd certainly run that; then Spybot, and then Adaware, and get rid of all the problems in both Spybot and Adaware. Before you run these programs, make sure you get the updates.

How full is your Hard Drive? And how big is it? Tiger Direct has a Hitache 250GB for 59 bucks; a Seagate 500 for 99 bucks.

Good luck, Valley! And let us know what happens. But even if it speeds up after CCleaner, I'd run these other programs anyway. Just makes for a healthier pc. (y) :D
 

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
xico said:
Hi Valley!

It won't, but it will get your System Restore operational, hopefully. I would run CCleaner, it's free, and it'll get rid of tons of crap. Next, I run a defrager. I use Diskeeper Lite. That should help speed it up. BTW when was the last time you defraged?

Do you have Registry Mechanic? I'd certainly run that; then Spybot, and then Adaware, and get rid of all the problems in both Spybot and Adaware. Before you run these programs, make sure you get the updates.

How full is your Hard Drive? And how big is it? Tiger Direct has a Hitache 250GB for 59 bucks; a Seagate 500 for 99 bucks.

Good luck, Valley! And let us know what happens. But even if it speeds up after CCleaner, I'd run these other programs anyway. Just makes for a healthier pc. (y) :D
xico!!! I didnt know you were a techie!

Sooo much great advice here, thanks. I have spybot and adaware. I run spybot often but didnt think I needed to run adaware since I use spybot.

Defragging....to be honest, i'd completely forgot that I needed to do that once in awhile. :eek: I think its been a good 6 months.

I will get CCleaner right away and use it. I will also look into Registry Mechanic. I do not mind paying for programs if they will help keep my computer clean. (y)

My HD is 80 gigs. I know people have told me several times in the past where to look to see how much HD space I have left....there is a snapshot or a pie chart or something like that but I cant remember where. :eek:

But first...i'll follow blues direction and fix my restore function. Then i'll get to work on speeding things up. Thanks a million! :)
 

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
blues_harp28 said:
Hi One of your restore points may be corrupted which can prevent other restore points from working.
You may have clear All restore points..and look elsewhere for your system slowing down.

Right click My Computer>properties.
Click on system restore tab.
Select Turn off System Restore>click Apply and restart Pc.
This will delete all restore points.
Once restarted..go back to System Restore tab and deselect Turn off System Restore.
Now click Start menu.
Programs>accessories>system tools>System Restore.
Choose the option Create a restore point.
Enter a description.
Click Create.
got this part done. Thank you! :)(y)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
I'm just a little techie. :p

Left click on "my computer", then right click on your C Drive, and go to Properties. The little pie will tell you what you got left. :D

The Linux people insist that defragmenting is essential. If you go to the Freeware Thread in TSG, someone posted a free defragmenter that they liked. Diskkeeper Lite, which they discontinued, was free; it's fast and has never given me a problem. The full program can run in the background, and I think they'll let you have a trial version, if I remember correctly.

Registry Mechanic is vital. I used to run it every start up, but now I do it once every couple of weeks. The last time I had 254 problems:eek: Obviously that slows down the ol' pc. :D

Good luck, Valley! (y) :D
 

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
and on the defragger...it says I have 79% free and that I didnt need to run the defreg on that amount.
 

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
xico said:
I'm just a little techie. :p

Left click on "my computer", then right click on your C Drive, and go to Properties. The little pie will tell you what you got left. :D

The Linux people insist that defragmenting is essential. If you go to the Freeware Thread in TSG, someone posted a free defragmenter that they liked. Diskkeeper Lite, which they discontinued, was free; it's fast and has never given me a problem. The full program can run in the background, and I think they'll let you have a trial version, if I remember correctly.

Registry Mechanic is vital. I used to run it every start up, but now I do it once every couple of weeks. The last time I had 254 problems:eek: Obviously that slows down the ol' pc. :D

Good luck, Valley! (y) :D
oh there you are! :)

k...I will look for the diskkeeper Lite later. I'll go do the pie thingie now. :D
 

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
xico said:
Left click on "my computer", then right click on your C Drive, and go to Properties. The little pie will tell you what you got left. :D
74.4 gb free. Thats a great amount out of 80 gigs! :)

Registry Mechanic is vital. I used to run it every start up, but now I do it once every couple of weeks. The last time I had 254 problems:eek: Obviously that slows down the ol' pc. :D

Good luck, Valley! (y) :D
great thanks again xico. I was amazed at how much the Ccleaner got rid of :eek:
 

valley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Messages
19,134
and my screens are starting to pop up quickly now....sped it up a bunch already! I'm going to create another restore point now! (y)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2002
Messages
29,787
valley said:
and my screens are starting to pop up quickly now....sped it up a bunch already! I'm going to create another restore point now! (y)
Cool!(y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top