1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

System Restore vs Norton Antivirus

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by lisa54481, Feb 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lisa54481

    lisa54481 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Every time I use Sytem Restore (with Windows ME and IE 6) my Norton 2003 stalls up the entire comp--"unable to initate database files" I have to go to Safe Mode and undo the Restore and if that doesnt work I have to go through the entire process of uninstall/reinstall Norton.
    I have looked for a patch and through Symantecs tech pages.
    Anyone know the answer please?
    Drives me nuts!
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya and welcome

    I remember reading about this regarding a virus.

    Have you done a scan, with updated files?

    If not, you can try this online scanner:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    Also, have you tried disabling Norton, using System restore, and then enabling Norton again?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    lisa
    also Welcome to TSG!
    Eddie brings up a good point to double check for viruses since there are some now that attack Virus scanners.
    Old Problem........
    This problem with Norton not initializing the data base after System Restore occurs when you Restore too a date prior to the date of definitions you currently have on your system. This creates a mismatch of files. Norton realized this problem awhile back and has created what is called the Hawkingtool.exe program. This problem plaqued 2001 and 2002 NAV WinME but I didn't know 2003 also was involved.
    Here is the link for 2001\2002 NAV. Might I suggest you try the Hawkingtool for WinME 2003 the next time this happens to you. If it works your home free if not you stuck reinstalling as we used to have to do.

    Let us know either way when this happens and what the result is using hawkingtool.exe.

    Click
    Here for article and link to tool.

    Dave
     
  4. lisa54481

    lisa54481 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for your help! I will try it and definately will let you know. I have the bundled Norton Internet Security and Antivirus 2003 and it happens just like it did when I had Norton 2000.

    I did know about Housecall too but I hadn't been there in a while. Thankfully, I'm clear. Good reminder to go there.

    Again thank you so much! This is a super forum. Love it.

    Lisa
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116670

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice