1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

System Restore Won't Generate Restore Points Automatically

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by rocallaghan, Jan 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rocallaghan

    rocallaghan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Hi

    I have windows vista (32bit) and have been having problems with system restore recently. When I try to use system restore it tells me that I have no restore points. I can make manual restore points but there are no automatic points and when I next try to use system restore often the manual restore points I made previously have disappeared!

    Any Help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,234
    Have you looked at your task scheduler to see what it says as far as System Restore points?
     
  3. rocallaghan

    rocallaghan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    yeh, from what I can see there is nothing to do with system restore in the task schedule. I assume I need to add a task manually to get it to work regularly. Worryingly the manual restore point I creatd yesterday is no longer there :(
     
  4. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    you can create the task an easy way ---uncheck the drive--hit apply etc--then re check it
     
  5. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    this window here i forgot to attach in post above
     

    Attached Files:

  6. rocallaghan

    rocallaghan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Hi

    I've been trying the easy way for weeks...thats the problem it just won't save any restore points. It will tell me one has been created but when I go back to system restore it tells me there are none, not even if I create a manual one. Have run a virus scan, nothing came up. Finding it really strange. :(
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - System Restore Won't
  1. youngcobra
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    447
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/787504

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice