System restore?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

midlandman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
464
How do I do a System restore with win95?Is it posible?From Dos?
Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
3,362
no such thing as system restore in windows 95. You will have to either restore from a manual backup or reformat/reinstall.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,176
System Restore is only available with Windows ME(which needs a required patch to run right) and with Windows XP. Windows 95 is pretty long in the tooth. If your computer is not more than 4 - 5 years old, its hardware may be compatible for a Windows 98SE upgrade, which I would highly recommend.

Frank's Windows 95/98 Tips:)
 

midlandman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
464
Thanks for your replys guys!
A freind of mine tried to install a new Canon Printer,and for some reason it messed up his computer.Now he can't download from the internet anymore,or from the CD-ROM.Someone here told me before that MS-DOS has a system restore,and I thought that it might help his cause.His Computer is about 5yrs old...Pentium1...pretty outdated by todays standards I guess.
And I have another question...can he install Win98 over Win95...and then WinXP over that?Without uninstalling anything?
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Should be able to boot to dos and do a scanreg /restore
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
For the second time, 95 doesn't have scanreg /restore ;)

I certainly wouldn't recommend the 95 to 98 to XP upgrade......btw, if he's running 95 now, I'd question whether his system would/could support 98.....and doubt it could do XP.....
 

midlandman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
464
I BELIEVE YOU,AcaCandy!!! I do!!
I was under the impression that the Scanreg /Restore was in the DOS program.
And as for the different OS's,is it advisable to uninstall 95 prior to installing 98 as well as 98>XP?(If your installing the FULL version,not the upgrade)Thanks again...
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
You can't just 'uninstall' an operating system.....if you did a clean format of the hard drive, you could install 98 or XP.....but you missed some of my concerns regarding the system specs.......

BTW, even the upgrade will install on a clean hard drive with no prior operating system...you will need to have on hand the disks or cd for 95 or 98 (depending on which way you are going) to prove prior ownership of an operating system.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Sorry, only see this one,
For the second time, 95 doesn't have scanreg /restore
must be going blind in my old age.
And a little more critical of criticism!!
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
3,362
I would strongly recommend against putting XP on a Pentium 1.

XP needs AT LEAST 256MB to run happily on a modern system and 6-8gb to run happily on its own partition (including swap file, etc).

It will be extremely slow if you do manage to make it work.


98 upgrade would be more feasable but would also depend on speed of processor, amount of ram installed, and size of harddrive.
 
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
midlandman
Could we get some more specifics to your friends problem. May just need to repair IE.




Del
Originally posted by Del:
Sorry, only see this one,
For the second time, 95 doesn't have scanreg /restore
must be going blind in my old age.
And a little more critical of criticism!!
Just to clarify Candy was referring to the first time being Jtoast's first post. Not a personal attack on you.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Thanks jm........I had just sent Del a private message apologizing if he misundersood my post, it definitely wasn't a personal attack........if I had just posted without indicating it had already been said, then Jtoast would have been angry at me for taking his idea :eek: :eek:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top