System Restore

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Elanor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
103
System Restore is a neat tool that XP has, but for some reason, my computer doesn't seem to keep restore points. Every time I go to restore something, none of the dates are bolded, so I can't pick a previous date. I've checked the System folder and noted that System Restore is on. Any chance someone can help me figure this out? :) Thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Messages
2,985
From Help page click on System Restore, tick create a restore point, click next at bottom of page, next page, make a note of some kind to mark your restore point, then click "create" and a few seconds later it will say "restore point created"
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2003
Messages
4,823
Try this:

Open Notepad (Start | All Programs | Accessories | Notepad):

Copy EVERYTHING in red below:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.htc]
"Content Type"="text/x-component"
@="htcfile"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\MIME\Database\Content Type\text/x-component]
"CLSID"="{3050f4f8-98b5-11cf-bb82-00aa00bdce0b}"
"Extension"=".htc"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{3050f4f8-98b5-11cf-bb82-00aa00bdce0b}]
@="Microsoft Html Component"
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{3050f4f8-98b5-11cf-bb82-00aa00bdce0b}\InProcServer32]
@="C:\\WINDOWS\\System32\\mshtml.dll"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment""

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\.htc]
"Content Type"="text/x-component"
@="htcfile"


Paste the copied text into the open Notepad file

Click File | Save As
Change Save as type to All Types

Call the file Sysrestore.reg

Save to a location you can remember

Now double click on the file in the location to which you saved it
It will ask if you wish to merge the file, Click Yes

Restart your computer

Try and create a restore point
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
You could also type the following command in your start/ run box to reinstall the application:
rundll32.exe advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection C:\Windows\Inf\sr.inf
 

Elanor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
103
Um, I can actually create restore points manually, but the computer doesn't seem to create automatic ones. And the old ones disappear, so that I can't find old points that were created in the past. :S
 

Elanor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
103
Turn off is unchecked.
Disk Space to Use is set to Max
It says it's monitoring C.

I really don't know what the problem is.
 

Elanor

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
103
I tried that, and I got a box saying
the file sr.sys on Windows XP Home Edition CD-ROM is needed.
This comp came with XP loaded onto it. Do I need to go search for the CD then? :$ So sorry for the stupid questions. Major beginner am I. :( Thank you!
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Yes, did you get one with your system ? Just insert the disk and if it auto loads click exit then retry the command with the cd in the drive and it will recopy the file from the cd.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2002
Messages
2,985
Elanor, mine doesn't always create automatically either, I create more than the the computer does.

I read the conditions somewhere under which System Restore
creates it's own points regularly. I have been searching for them but at the minute I can't find them. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top