1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

System suddenly very instable

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Heulen, Jul 4, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    I told myself to refrain from asking a forum for help, mostly because I feel like I'm being kind of an annoyance and this is probably a very easy fix which I shamefully can't find.

    I'll give some back story to how I came here:
    Finally got around to building my own desktop PC, with the following specs:
    Asrock B450M Pro
    AMD Ryzen 5 1600
    Asus RX570 OC
    SeaGate Baracuda 1 TB
    Team L5 Lite 3D 240GB
    Corsair Vengeance 8 gb ddr4 3000mhz
    Corsair CX450M

    Inter-Tech B42 (terrible case, I know).

    I was so happy when I finally got around to building the PC... Even happier that it posted the first time!!
    I felt like a king, I had build my first PC all by myself and it was working amazing.

    This went on for a week, the PC didn't malfunction in any way whatsoever. There were no signs of bad components or anything.

    Until...

    Last week, I started up my PC, nothing out of the ordinary..
    Suddenly my internet went out, which was weird because all other systems connected to the same router still had internet. Whilst this was confusing me I noticed that I could not move my mouse! My system froze up on me. for no apparent reason whatsoever.

    Nothing could get me out of this weird lockup so I had to hard reboot my pc.

    After that moment, my PC never was stable again. It can run for 2 hours max until it freezes.

    In Event viewer, I can't find any error codes pointing towards the freezing of the pc. Only a Kernel power issue which is just me turning off the power manually.

    What I tried to fix the issue so far:

    - Boot without GPU connecting the monitor to my motherboard
    result:
    nothing... Literally. My CPU doesn't have internal graphics.

    - Put the single RAM stick that I have in the second slot because apparently Ryzen likes that better.
    result:
    Doesn't really change a whole lot, allthough system seems to run somewhat longer.

    - OC my Ram to 2666 GHZ to run more in sync with Ryzen proccesor
    result:
    Seems to not do anything. Upping the RAM to nearly 3000 GHZ gives blue screens.

    - Remove all other peripherals except for keyboard
    Result:
    nothing noticeable.

    -Check hardware connections on MB
    Result:
    Nothing

    - Check temperatures
    Result:
    Nothing out of the ordinary.

    - Update BIOS to most recent version
    Result:
    Nothing.

    - Reset BIOS to default settings.
    Result:
    Nothing

    - Remove CMOS Battery to reset BIOS
    result:
    Nothing special.

    -Reset Windows back to version that was stable
    Result:
    Still unstable

    -Running Windows in safemode
    Result:
    Still unstable.

    - Memtest86
    Result:
    No abnormalities

    - SFC
    Result:
    No abnormalities

    -DISM
    Result:
    No abnormalities

    -Run PC from Ubuntu Live USB
    Result:
    Finally, a result! My system can continiously run here! However this ofcourse is not a solution..

    I am so close to giving up now.. I really don't want to though! I know the system can work because it has worked ever so flawlessly before so I really want to find out what the problem is...

    I hope you all could help me.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 5, 2019
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,540
    I am signing off I am in the UK
    However having noticed your topic about 15 minutes ago and started to look at the possibilities they are
    1. The CPU is summit ridge
    The memory configs allowed are
    Ryzen Series CPUs (Summit Ridge): - as I am sure you know SR is single rank and dr dual rank - chip arrangement
    [​IMG]

    Forgetting the Corsair being 3000MHz for the time being - how is your setup of the 8GB made up - 2 of 4GB or 4 of 2GB
    I take it this is a mistype
    GHZ

    That is the favourite I think

    2. The other possibility is that the PSU albeit the wattage may be OK is not meant for that setup
    CX is a basic PSU not meant to be run at high demand of gaming
    "CX Series™ Modular power supply units are an excellent choice for basic system builds and desktop PC computer upgrades, offering high reliability, low noise, and the flexibility of modular cabling."

    although I would not have expected it to have taken that long to show a fault
    You have nevertheless chosen the wrong PSU if you are using the rig for gaming

    As I said signing off, I would look at the ram setup
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2019
  3. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    I'm going to be going to bed too seeing as I am from The Netherlands myself

    The RAM is a Single stick located in the A2 slot.
    So a single 8gb stick.

    The PSU I am using is indeed not especially taylorfit for gaming but, that's not how I intend to use the system anyway.

    You've got me interested though.
    Is there a difference in PSU's with the same wattage that are more fit for gaming though? I have never heard of that before!
     
  4. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,901
    Heulen,

    I've edited your post for language as this is a family friendly site. Please be more careful in the future.
     
  5. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Sorry, I thought the system corrected me allready.
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,901
    Yes but that's not acceptable either. It shows intent and if the filter stars out a word that word should never had been used in the first place.
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,540
    Indeed there is - for the constant demand of gaming on the GPU a lot of which may be at or close to the limit of the GPU, together with the demand of the rest of the system you need if, that was what you were using the system for, one of the higher spec PSU`s with high quality Japanese capacitors

    You will see that the CX is designed for as I posted a basic system
    Whereas the SX 450
    SF Series™ SF450 — 450 Watt 80 PLUS® Gold Certified High Performance SFX PSU (UK)

    £79.99 GBP

    SF Series™ power supplies bring legendary CORSAIR performance and reliability to the SFX small form factor standard with 80 PLUS Gold certification, Zero RPM mode, and 100% 105°C Japanese electrolytic capacitors.

    However if you are not running at the demands of gaming and that use is occasional you may be OK with what you have.

    When you reply please type in box that appears, not by clicking reply on my post, that as you can see quotes back all I have posted

    1. Now to continue with trying to find the cause send me please the results of our system information utility, copy and paste to your reply please, the info in the white box.
    https://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe

    2. Download Mini toolbox
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/minitoolbox/
    save to desktop
    right click on icon click run as admin
    Click to check last 10 event viewer and installed programs
    click GO
    open txt file on desktop
    select all
    copy and paste to reply
     
  8. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 23 Model 1 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 12
    RAM: 8123 Mb
    Graphics Card: Radeon RX 570 Series, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 223 GB (139 GB Free); D: 930 GB (754 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASRock, B450M Pro4
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

    MiniToolBox by Farbar Version: 17-06-2016
    Ran by Olivier (administrator) on 05-07-2019 at 20:01:38
    Running from "D:\Olivier\Downloads"
    Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (X64)
    Model: To Be Filled By O.E.M. Manufacturer: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    Boot Mode: Normal
    ***************************************************************************

    ========================= Event log errors: ===============================

    Application errors:
    ==================
    Error: (07/05/2019 07:34:16 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: svchost (3696,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (07/04/2019 05:28:58 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: svchost (3672,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:13:16 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: svchost (3720,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (07/03/2019 07:27:44 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: svchost (9232,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (07/03/2019 07:19:30 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: svchost (10052,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (07/03/2019 05:09:37 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: svchost (3940,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:50:54 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: svchost (5112,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:37:43 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: StartMenuExperienceHost (6632,R,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-21-3723700012-161447326-3221652371-1001: Error -1023 (0xfffffc01) occurred while opening logfile C:\Users\Olivier\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log.

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:37:43 PM) (Source: ESENT) (User: )
    Description: StartMenuExperienceHost (6632,P,98) TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-21-3723700012-161447326-3221652371-1001: An attempt to open the device with name "\\.\C:" containing "C:\" failed with system error 5 (0x00000005): "Access is denied. ". The operation will fail with error -1032 (0xfffffbf8).

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:33:37 PM) (Source: SecurityCenter) (User: )
    Description: Error while updating Windows Defender status to SECURITY_PRODUCT_STATE_ON.


    System errors:
    =============
    Error: (07/05/2019 08:00:12 PM) (Source: EventLog) (User: )
    Description: The previous system shutdown at 19:25:05 on ‎05/‎07/‎2019 was unexpected.

    Error: (07/05/2019 07:25:05 PM) (Source: EventLog) (User: )
    Description: The previous system shutdown at 17:21:57 on ‎04/‎07/‎2019 was unexpected.

    Error: (07/04/2019 05:21:57 PM) (Source: EventLog) (User: )
    Description: The previous system shutdown at 14:27:22 on ‎04/‎07/‎2019 was unexpected.

    Error: (07/04/2019 02:19:47 PM) (Source: EventLog) (User: )
    Description: The previous system shutdown at 13:47:43 on ‎04/‎07/‎2019 was unexpected.

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:48:00 PM) (Source: DCOM) (User: DESKTOP-H6BGBGG)
    Description: 1084dpsUnavailable{DDCFD26B-FEED-44CD-B71D-79487D2E5E5A}

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:47:58 PM) (Source: DCOM) (User: DESKTOP-H6BGBGG)
    Description: 1084WSearchUnavailable{E48EDA45-43C6-48E0-9323-A7B2067D9CD5}

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:47:58 PM) (Source: DCOM) (User: DESKTOP-H6BGBGG)
    Description: 1084WSearchUnavailable{7D096C5F-AC08-4F1F-BEB7-5C22C517CE39}

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:47:58 PM) (Source: DCOM) (User: DESKTOP-H6BGBGG)
    Description: 1084WSearchUnavailable{7D096C5F-AC08-4F1F-BEB7-5C22C517CE39}

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:47:58 PM) (Source: DCOM) (User: DESKTOP-H6BGBGG)
    Description: 1084WSearchUnavailable{7D096C5F-AC08-4F1F-BEB7-5C22C517CE39}

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:47:58 PM) (Source: DCOM) (User: DESKTOP-H6BGBGG)
    Description: 1084WSearchUnavailable{7D096C5F-AC08-4F1F-BEB7-5C22C517CE39}


    Microsoft Office Sessions:
    =========================
    Error: (07/05/2019 07:34:16 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: svchost3696,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (07/04/2019 05:28:58 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: svchost3672,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (07/04/2019 01:13:16 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: svchost3720,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (07/03/2019 07:27:44 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: svchost9232,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (07/03/2019 07:19:30 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: svchost10052,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (07/03/2019 05:09:37 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: svchost3940,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:50:54 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: svchost5112,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-18: C:\WINDOWS\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:37:43 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: StartMenuExperienceHost6632,R,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-21-3723700012-161447326-3221652371-1001: C:\Users\Olivier\AppData\Local\TileDataLayer\Database\EDB.log-1023 (0xfffffc01)

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:37:43 PM) (Source: ESENT)(User: )
    Description: StartMenuExperienceHost6632,P,98TILEREPOSITORYS-1-5-21-3723700012-161447326-3221652371-1001: \\.\C:C:\-1032 (0xfffffbf8)5 (0x00000005)Access is denied.

    Error: (06/28/2019 03:33:37 PM) (Source: SecurityCenter)(User: )
    Description: Windows DefenderSECURITY_PRODUCT_STATE_ON


    =========================== Installed Programs ============================

    Google Chrome (HKLM-x32\...\Google Chrome) (Version: 75.0.3770.100 - Google LLC)
    Google Update Helper (HKLM-x32\...\{60EC980A-BDA2-4CB6-A427-B07A5498B4CA}) (Version: 1.3.34.11 - Google LLC) Hidden
    Microsoft OneDrive (HKCU\...\OneDriveSetup.exe) (Version: 19.103.0527.0003 - Microsoft Corporation)

    **** End of log ****
     
  9. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    The Kernel errors in Event viewer are me manually shutting down the PC.
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,540
    The installed program list seems very sparse - I would have expected more, as Minitoolbox shows all installed apps on 10 - yours does not even show Office
    is there any chance some of the log is missing
     
  11. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    No because, as you can see in my original post, i have reinstalled Windows from a recent working version which only kept my files and not my installed programs.

    I have not took the time to install any programs ever since I reset the PC because it hasn't been stable.
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,540
    Post the full ram spec please
     
  13. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK8GX4M1D3000C16
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,540
    I cannot explain why it was stable for a week or so, one may expect to then look at windows updates and drivers etc
    However I am inclined more to the ram
    The B450 is extremely sensitive to ram suitability and your ram is not on the QVL list
    The first speed is ram speed and the second speed supported speed
    DDR4 Corsair 3000 2933 8GB CMD32GX4M4B3000C15 (Hynix-M) SS 2 v
    DDR4 Corsair 2800 2800 8GB CMD32GX4M4A2800C16 DS 2
    DDR4 Corsair 2800 2800 8GB CMK32GX4M4A2800C16 DS 2
    DDR4 Corsair 2800 2800 4GB CMD16GX4M4A2800C16 SS 2
    DDR4 Corsair 2666 2666 8GB CMD32GX4M4A2666C15 ver4.23 DS 2/4
    DDR4 Corsair 2666 2666 8GB CMK32GX4M4A2666C16 DS 2
    DDR4 Corsair 2666 2666 8GB CMK32GX4M4A2666C16 ver 5.30 SS 2
    DDR4 Corsair 2666 2666 4GB CMD16GX4M4A2666C15 SS 2
    DDR4 Corsair 2666 2666 4GB CMK16GX4M4A2666C16 SS 2
    DDR4 Corsair 2133 2133 4GB CMV4GX4M1A2133C15 SS 2/4


    Although ram other than on the ASRock QVL list will work, as of course not all ram can be tested I would strongly recommend that you either speak to ASRock or to Corsair
    OR if possible RMAS the ram for a selection on the QVL list
    You would be far better using dual channel on that board with for instance 2 x 4GB if you wish to stick with 8GB or indeed 2 x 8GB
    However MAKE SURE you buy as exactly matched pair

    In summary I think the problem with the ram you have maybe
    Specifications of the actual memory modules may vary depending on the chips used.

    For dual channel configuration, you always need to install identical (the same brand, speed, size and chip-type) DDR4 DIMM pairs.

    It may help if you have not done so to check firmware settings for

    DRAM Timing Configuration


    DRAM Frequency

    If [Auto] is selected, the motherboard will detect the memory module(s) inserted and assign the appropriate frequency automatically.

    AND make sure that you DO NOT have cool and quite enabled

    Please note that enabling this function may reduce CPU voltage and memory frequency, and lead to system stability or compatibility issue with some memory modules or power supplies. Please set this item to DISABLED if such problem occurs
     
  15. Heulen

    Heulen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Is the motherboard I am using more sensitive to RAM then other motherboards?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1229546

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice