1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

System won't go POST then to Bios

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by darkwarlord, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. darkwarlord

    darkwarlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    The other night (A safe shutdown) and just so ppl know what I've been doing, since December I've been playing WOW:pandaria daily...for hours on end. 6+.

    After the shutdown, I left to get groceries came back home and turned on my PC...it would not boot.
    no beep...just fans REVing up and down. Turned it off, turned it on. switched voltage, switched it back. unplugged my video card, plugged it back. everything I did, the same thing...fans rev up, no beep.

    Today, I get on my laptop and check around. ppl mentioned CMOS and it's battery. I removed it, 5mins later put it back in. Dejuvu... look more...mention totally unplugging every damn thing in the pc, even the power coords on the MB.

    I unplug the one next to the CPU, and the massive one on the MB then power on and it works but I only have my one HDD, since other is unplugged. shut down (safely), hook it up....deju f'in vu... repeat the unplugging of the motherboard power, and it works...

    but, each time I did that the cmos resets and tells me the times are wrong, etc. sets the crap back to 2008.

    before I go buying anything, is the cmos battery on it's last legs? since isnt that what loads the bios, and if it's dead..it wont boot? but by unplugging it, forces a hard reset?
    or is it something else.
    (posting this on that very computer atm, after unpluggin the MB power)
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,990
    First Name:
    Ron
    Replace the cmos battery.

    To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can use the TSG Info to fill in your computer information in your user profile as well.

    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  3. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    a flat cmos battery does not stop it booting into the bios,it just sets it default every time you boot up

    include in your specs the power supply

    make
    model
    wattage

    run this and check your cpu temps

    http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/
     
  4. darkwarlord

    darkwarlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    PSU is A-Power AK680 power supply. Don't see model on side sticker, but MF date is 0209.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9600 Quad-Core Processor, x86 Family 16 Model 2 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3327 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4770, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 343389 MB, Free - 56046 MB; M: Total - 476929 MB, Free - 311336 MB;
    Motherboard: , TRS780-M1
    Antivirus: None

    I uploaded PiriformSpeccy images of my temps and voltages. motherboard also shows cmos and versions.
    1 is main window
    2 is cpu
    3 is ram
    4 is motherboard
     

    Attached Files:

    • pc1.jpg
      pc1.jpg
      File size:
      62 KB
      Views:
      69
    • pc2.jpg
      pc2.jpg
      File size:
      70.8 KB
      Views:
      80
    • pc3.jpg
      pc3.jpg
      File size:
      59.9 KB
      Views:
      68
    • pc4.jpg
      pc4.jpg
      File size:
      63.1 KB
      Views:
      64
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083800

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice