1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Systems Resources Low

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Green_punk, Feb 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Green_punk

    Green_punk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    hello,

    after reading a webpage based on systems performance, i right clicked 'MY computer' went to the performance tab and found that my Systems Resources is at 15% free!

    could this be the reason my computer is slow?

    it is a dell latitude cpi, 128RAM pentium 2 mmx.

    i also ran RegCleaner and found many Reg keys that are 'useless' but iam not sure if i should delete them just incase.

    is there a way to increase my systems resources?
     
  2. Jest8

    Jest8

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    243
    Cleaning the registry probably won't free up any resources so I'd leave that alone for the moment.
    A couple of questions:

    How much hard drive space do you have left?
    Have you cleaned the temp,history,cookies and temp internet files recently?
    Do you restart your P.C on a regular basis?
     
  3. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi Green_punk

    You probably have far too many programs running at startup which you do not need

    Do this and we'll check it out for you :-

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.51 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here

    steam
     
  4. Green_punk

    Green_punk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    hello

    i have 3 drives with 2gb per drive, my primary drive C: has 400MB free space, the other drives have 450MB and the other has 600MB. i use the other drives for storing films, music and some programs.

    for steamwiz:

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SYNAPTICS\SYNTP\SYNTPLPR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ALCATEL\SPEEDTOUCH USB\DRAGDIAG.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SYNAPTICS\SYNTP\SYNTPENH.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZAPRO.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINOA386.MOD
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    ZoneAlarm Pro.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zapro.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SynTPLpr = C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
    SpeedTouch USB Diagnostics = "C:\Program Files\Alcatel\SpeedTouch USB\Dragdiag.exe" /icon
    NAV Agent = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE
    SynTPEnh = C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    TrueVector = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 30/1/2003, 16:26:0)

    [rename]

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    PATH C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;\dos
    C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\DOSKEY
    \dos\GUEST.EXE
    mode con codepage prepare=((850) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\ega.cpi)
    mode con codepage select=850
    keyb uk,,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\keyboard.sys

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    Zero Popup - C:\PROGRA~1\ZEROPO~1\HTMLEDIT.DLL - {2EF37A01-884F-11d5-AC99-B112050ECB4F}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    Maintenance-Clean up Start menu.job
    Maintenance-Anti-Virus.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job
    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [{8522F9B3-38C5-4AA4-AE40-7401F1BBC851}]
    CODEBASE = http://66.28.45.60/FreeMP3_v2.0.exe

    [HouseCall Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2003011601/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    [QuickTime Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

    appreciate the help thanks
     
  5. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Well I'm surprised, I thought you would have had a lot more programs starting that were not necessary, instead you have a pretty clean startup

    When you looked at your resources did you have more programs running, and did you have a lot of ie windows open, and I mean a lot

    Try this :- go to
    Start
    Programs
    Accessories
    System tools
    Resource meter

    Then use Ctrl-Alt-Del to close programs one at a time - checking your resource meter each time - see if you can determine which program is using the bulk of your resources

    steam
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116766

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice