1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

sytem restore problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rhart714, Sep 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rhart714

    rhart714 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    I am running XP Pro

    I foolishly delated most entries in the Recycler (not the recycle) folder believeing that they were old restore points. Now, when I check "My computer Properties", there is no tab for system restore (I am logged in with admin properties) - When I try to acces sytem restore on helyp I get "procedure entry point could not be located in WINSTA.dll.

    Further upon logging in to my account, on most days I get a dialogue box saying that the sytem needs to replace files that have become corrupt and I have to insert Win XP disk.

    Any suggestions? Thanks very much!
     
  2. Mollie

    Mollie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Have you replaced the files by doing this? If not, I suggest that you do before trying anything else first. This may be the solution you need.


    Mollie
     
  3. Yourbippy

    Yourbippy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    59
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    With CD in, You could just put this in the RUN command box and hit enter.
    rundll32.exe advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection C:\Windows\Inf\sr.inf
     
  5. rhart714

    rhart714 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks very much to all!!

    I did reinstall Windows SP1 (as per Mysweetbippy) and it worked - I now have system restore back. The only problem is now Windows seems to run slowly from startup to running apps etc.

    Charlie - I'm not sure what your command line solution was going to do - that was next on my list altho as a prudent user, I was going to try to ascertain exactly what we were trying to do.

    Tx again
    :)
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    That command was going to reinstall system restore on your system without reformatting....:D
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice