1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

tablet changes IP address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kerrimick, Feb 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.00GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3062 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family, 384 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 146491 MB, Free - 41129 MB; D: Total - 77642 MB, Free - 53070 MB; Z: Total - 25574 MB, Free - 10218 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, Inc., Chapala
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    Hi I have just purchased a new wifi repeater, and everything works fine except for 1 of my tablets
    After checking things it seems that when the repeater is plugged in the tablet has a different IP address, than when it is unplugged I have 2 mobiles and another tablet and all are working fine.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    does the tablet work on on the main router - has the IP address been entered manually into the tablet at all ?
     
  3. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    I have just unplugged the repeater from wall socket and the tablets ip address changed back to 192.168.1.34, and the tablet connected to the internet, I then plugged the repeater back in and the tablets ip address changed to 192.168.0.100 and it would not connect to the internet although it was telling me I was connected to the router and I had a full wifi signal
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have another device connected to the extender - sounds like the extender is giving out an IP address

    make and model of the main router
    make and model of the extender
     
  5. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    the main router is Comtrend PN 722476/012 on Movistar ADSL
    and the extender is Realtek RTL8196C wireless* N Router*
    I dont have anything connected by cable to the extender
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is the extender acting as a wireless adapter for cable connected devices or as a wireless extender and anything connected to the extender by wireless
     
  7. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    as a wireless extender only and yes I have 2 mobiles that can connect to it and another tablet, I am in the bedroom next to the extender on my laptop so I dont know if I am going through the extender with my laptop
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i cannot find much information on the realtek device
    how have you set up
    as an AP/Client/bridge ?

    the other tablet has an IP of ?
    are you sure they are connected to the extender

    if you connect the laptop to one of the LAN ports on the extender does it work ? with the wireless OFF
     
  9. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    I have a mobile connected to the extender and the ip address is 192.168.1.34 I dont have a lan cable to hand at the moment and the missus is watching housewives in Beverly Hills so I would be taking my life in my hands if I got in the way of that lol.. The guy were I bought the extender set it up in his shop, I took my router and he set it up that way I suppose I could always go back to him, but he does not speak much English. Thanks for your help Wayne can I come back later when I find the cable..
     
  10. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    by the way the other tablet is definately connected to the extender because the signal is so much better, hope that helps
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats the same IP as the one mentioned earlier
    tablets ip address changed back to 192.168.1.34

    i would expect a lease period to be assigned to that IP - so it can only be used by 1 PC for a short while

    without disturbing the wife - would not want to get in the middle of that :) :)

    do an ipconfig /all from the laptop - does not matter how its connected - just want to see the lease
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Production2
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection 4:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-83-15-A3-10
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Anchorfree HSS Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-4B-9C-19-3B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3C-1E-0D-CC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4b5:84c6:6d3b:d08b%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.12(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218111804
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-AF-18-85-00-1E-68-35-AD-7A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-35-AD-7A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{6BDE2AA7-5E07-4A59-9060-DBD74E80B8D6}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{072A813C-FB79-4C54-89D4-BB6CBF5CC4D9}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{4B9C193B-A3F4-4A42-B3FD-1E9D47D6386C}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Production 2>
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    interesting you are using a fixed IP
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    i wonder if this is the problem and no dhcp server is setup on the router

    you can set up a manual IP for each device and see if that works OK

    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.xxx
    for each device the xxx needs to be a unique number between 2 and 254 - make sure you dont use on alreader in use I suggest you start at 200
    so for one device 192.168.1.200
    192.168.1.201 for the next etc
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS primary ............. 208.67.222.222
    DNS secondary ........... 8.8.4.4

    the DNS you are using is one of the openDNS servers and one of the google open dns servers
     
  14. kerrimick

    kerrimick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks. I will try that, one problem I have is that the tablet that is not connecting, for some reason wont let me make any changes under the advanced tab, do you think that is a problem with the tablet..
    I will come back to you when I have tried these fixes. Thanks a bunch. my keyboard has gone weird on me now and some of the character buttons are not doing what they should..
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    on a laptop - which keys - check numlock is not selected

    possibly
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088159

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice