1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Task host in Task manager?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by kolrib, Jan 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kolrib

    kolrib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    When I open my task manager a taskhost.exe is there, however if you look at the command line it doest say "C:/Windows/System 32/taskhost.exe", it just says "taskhost.exe" (with those quotation marks yes). Is this a legit file? For other Windows 7 users, if your taskhost.exe is running, what does your command line say?
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    Mine says Host Process for Windows Tasks.

    It is legit. Task Host - Generic Host Process for Windows 7 32-bit Services. The full path to this file should be shown as C:\Windows\System32\Taskhost.exe (you can double click on this entry to view the full path). Windows 7.

    TASKHOST is a generic process which acts as a host for processes that run from DLLs rather than EXEs. At startup TASKHOST checks the Services portion of the Registry to construct a list of DLL-based services that it needs to load, and then loads them. There can be many instances of TASKHOST running, as there will be one instance of TASKHOST for every DLL-based service or grouping of services (the grouping of services is determined by the programmers who wrote the services in question)
     
  3. kolrib

    kolrib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Yes I know taskhost is a legit process, however I was just wondering about the legit of this file since the comand line was different from other processes in task manager, and even from your task host.
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    We would need to dig deeper.

    Please download DDS by sUBs to your desktop from one of the following locations:

    http://www.techsupportforum.com/sectools/sUBs/dds
    http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/dds.scr
    http://www.forospyware.com/sUBs/dds

    Disable any script blocker you may have, as they may interfere and then double-click the DDS.scr to run the tool.

    When DDS has finished scanning, it will open two logs named as follows:

    DDS.txt
    Attach.txt


    Save them both to your desktop and then proceed on to the next step.

    Click here to download HijackThis.exe
    • Save it to your desktop.
    • Doubleclick on the HijackThis.exe icon on your desktop.
    • Click on Install.
    • Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
    • Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
    • Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
    • Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
    • DO NOT have Hijackthis fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.

    Please post the requested logs/reports, as follows:

    Copy and paste the contents of the DDS.txt file.
    Upload as an attachment the Attach.txt file.
    Copy and paste the HijackThis log.
     
  5. kolrib

    kolrib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Are you sure you checked your "Command Line" in Task manager? Because I reinstalled my computer and the "taskhost.exe" is still there, I also checked on another computer in my househould and the "Command Line" says "taskhost.exe" too so I guess this is legit.
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    I kinda thought we already clarified that.

    I'm running Windows 7 and down below I attached a screenshot of my Task Manager.

    I also did a search on my computer and taskhost came up once located in System32.

    I also ran HijackThis on my computer and it showed up once in my running processes under System32.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. kolrib

    kolrib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Thats not your "Command Line".
     
  8. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    Is this better?

    Same thing as yours.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1034256