1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Taskbar & Desktop Icons Blinking!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by EGSUPERMEX, Mar 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EGSUPERMEX

    EGSUPERMEX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    Recently, every so often, let's say that I am on the internet, my takbar will start blinking. I can still do things on the net. But, if I log off or minimize the WINDOW, I find that my icons are blinking too. My OS is WINDOWS XP. Is this happening to anyone else? Any solutions? Thanks!
     
  2. AngryClip

    AngryClip

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Sounds to me like you have either a virus, or someone is playing a joke on you and put one of those "Prank Programs" on your computer.

    These programs are harmless and supposed to be fun, but they are annoying. Has anyone else had access to your computer?

    Try running a virus scan?
     
  3. EGSUPERMEX

    EGSUPERMEX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    Sorry that it has taken so long to reply.

    I scanned for VIRUSES and found none. I thought of the prank thing but of the four people (my family), none has admitted to it. I have to believe them, because it is all too frustrating for them also. Since my first post on this subject, I have found out that if I bring my PC up from a 'cold' start, this problem will be happening almost everytime until I restart the PC. Sometimes it might take three times (restarting) for the 'blinking' to stop. Once it does stop, the PC is pretty stable. But, if you try to do to many things, such as close to many 'WINDOWS', it might start the blinking thing again. It seems to me that it is kind of like what locking up would do, but not. Just blinking.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    Have AOL installed ????

    I saw it happen once on a friends computer. He was playing some bingo game through aol and some ad installed some browser hijacker in c:\windows\downloaded program files.

    So I deleted it and it fixed it.
     
  5. EGSUPERMEX

    EGSUPERMEX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    No...I don't. My IP is COX Communications. There is no other server installed on my PC.
     
  6. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    A friend of mine had something similar, all the desktop icons were flashing she said. Tried online virus scan, nothing, tried Norton, nothing. Tried mine:
    http://www1.my-etrust.com/
    Fixed the problem..
    It's a 30 day free trial, so you don't have anything to loose if no one else has a suggestion.
     
  7. EGSUPERMEX

    EGSUPERMEX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    Del,

    Thank you for your advice. I downloaded EZ Antivirus. Sadly, it too detected no viruses as the report below states:

    Number of files scanned: 92580.
    Number of files that could not be scanned: 49
    No file viruses detected.

    Thanks again
     
  8. CouchMaster

    CouchMaster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    The only time I encounter a problem like this is when I surf crack sites - they hit me with so much stuff that my toolbar actually flutters.

    In your case though (from what I've read) I suspect an electrical hardware problem. It could be any number of things from your power supply to your memory or a harddrive/motherboard going bad.

    The first thing I'd do though is d/l the latest drivers for my machine and if that didn't work I'd then update the BIOS. If that didn't work I'd start swapping hardware. Remember, not everything is a software problem...
     
  9. DVOM

    DVOM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,710
    Might be a problem with monitor refresh rate. I recently had to crank mine up to 85Hertz due to blinking/flashing on dropdown menus.
     
  10. Al-Firdaus

    Al-Firdaus

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    3,369
    Does not neccessarily indicate that you have a problem. If you have installed TWEAK UI for Win XP then I suggest that you go into TWEAK UI and click on 'FOCUS' under "GENERAL" and read what is there.
     
  11. EGSUPERMEX

    EGSUPERMEX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 1999
    Messages:
    85
    Where do I find this info on TWEAK UI? Do I do a search on my PC? Or on a certain website? I seen the Microsoft website but I could not find anything about FOCUS.

    Thanks! I think we might be getting somewhere now.
     
  12. Huon

    Huon

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    429
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/125399