1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Taunting Reboots

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by quarinteen, Jan 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. quarinteen

    quarinteen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Hi, does anyone know if there is any harm in exchanging a 250w psu with a 300w on a pentium III slot 1 650mhz. thank you.
     
  2. Paladin-X

    Paladin-X

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Should be fine, altho it may not fix your reboot problem. Care to elaborate?
     
  3. quarinteen

    quarinteen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Well all of a sudden my machine just started rebooting at random. I swapped out the hard drive with one that is running windows 2003 server too see if it was a possible software problem and it rebooted so i then cleaned the board and all of the fans nothing, got a BIOS flash for giggles nothing, replaced the memory and the video card nothing replaced the cpu nothing so now i am down to the psu and the board it is one of the 2 I beleive. I have mother board monitor and my core 0 voltage keeps fluxing between 1.48 and 1.68 volts. so i decided to buy a new psu but i cant find any 250w psu's at a good price but I found a couple of 300w at pricewatch.com and I cant recall if it is ok to swap them.
     
  4. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    qt,

    You could put a 1000W power supply in there and it would not hurt anything as long as the output voltages are correct.
     
  5. quarinteen

    quarinteen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    also what voltage should it be set at?? I currently have it set to 7.0 volts which I just did but its been set at 6.5 volts and it goes all the way p to 8.5 I have it set at ratio 3x frequency 100/33
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob

    Voltage for what? If there is an defualt/auto use that option.
     
  7. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    I predict Blue Smoke on the horizon...and it won't be the Indians signaling! :eek:
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/322340

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice