1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

TCP/IP Corruption???

Discussion in 'Networking' started by iozzilina, Oct 2, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. iozzilina

    iozzilina Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    hi there.
    hope someone there can help me.
    i work as tech support for University of Arkansas, and i have run into this problem big time.

    on a DHCP server :
    win 95/98/2000

    a client get the IP assigned, can ping several domains or IPs, cannot telnet or browse the internet.

    the computer can browse the network neighbourhood.

    i have tried reinstalling the NIC, setting static ip, installing IPX and NetBuie, (sp) .... all the tricks that normally work.

    and i still cannot fix it.

    the only way that i know to fix it is reload windows.

    i hope there is an easier way.

    plz, help
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Have you tried adjusting the speed and duplex setting of his nic.

    Some when set to auto detect won't cut it. I have had to set some as 10mps half or full duplex to get them to connect.
    Can;t remember if they saw the network but I think they did.

    Just a though

    You can try this site http://www.wown.com/
    Lot's of networking info and troubleshooting
     
  3. iozzilina

    iozzilina Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    thanks.
    i'll try it and get back with you.

    i think i tried to play with those settings on one machine, but i'm not sure.
     
  4. jmy@work

    [email protected]

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2000
    Messages:
    59
    Don't think you have hardware problems. Most likely configuration. DHCP passing out default gateway? In browser settings, Using a proxy server? Address correct for proxy? Plug in proxy IP address (see if DNS may be causing the problem). Have you tried a release, renew--maybe you are picking up a bad dns server.

    IPX/SPX, NetBeui??? Take them off. They will not solve anything--will only degrade performance.

    Hope some of these things to check will lead you to the problem.
     
  5. MikeB

    MikeB

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 1999
    Messages:
    186
    need more info

    what operating systems are having the problem? all of them or just windows2000?

    from the windows2000 computers open a command prompt and type ipconfig /all to see if you get an ip address, default gateway, and dns/wins servers.

    from the win95/98 machines use winipcfg to get the same info....

    when you use static ip addresses on a pc, does it work?

    mike
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Corruption
  1. Azrail
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    308
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/54705

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice