TCP/IP settings

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

alij

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
134
having a problem with my wireless connection.:
My laptop is connected wireless via a card to a netgear router [ WGR614].
it was all working fine and we altered nothing.
now the router is working and signal strength is good but the network status says 'acquiring network address'.There is no IP address in properties just reads 0.0.0.0
When i try to Repair it This message comes up :
following action cannot be completed:Failed to query TCP/IP settings of the connection cannot proceed. :confused:

any help would be much appreciated.Thank you
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
98
Have you set the Netgear router to auto-assign IP addresses via DHCP?
Have you tried to connect the laptop to Negear router using an ethernet cable?Is it working that way?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
146
Can you post an ipconfig /all?
If you have Windows XP or Windows 2000 go to
start> run> type cmd> in the black window type
ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt

You'll find a file in c:\ called ipconfig.txt that you can open, copy, and paste the contents here on the forum.

Joe
 

alij

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
134
Can you post an ipconfig /all?
If you have Windows XP or Windows 2000 go to
start> run> type cmd> in the black window type
ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt

You'll find a file in c:\ called ipconfig.txt that you can open, copy, and paste the contents here on the forum.

I have tried the above, but it states >c:\ipconfig.txt is not recognised as an internal or external command,operable program or batch file.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
146
Sorry, that's all one line. In the black window type

ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt

exactly as I have it above.

Joe
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
It sounds like you already know the ip address from the first post - 0.0.0.0.

But to open the ipconfig.txt file once it gets created run:
notepad c:\ipconfig.txt

So what happened after you turned off the wireless security?

Does a wired connection work? If so, that would help point to it just being the wireless configuration.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
146
I'm not looking for the IP address. Please don't make assumptions about me or my questions.
Thanks

Joe
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Yes, absolutely. Perhaps there won't be any subnet, gateway or dns as well as no IP.

But certainly wanted to give the details for how to post the results of IPCONFIG /ALL. That wasn't done before.

Also the suggestion about turning off the wireless security or simply using a wired connection to test as well.
 

Ciberblade

Retired Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
16,279
I had an issue with a wireless router where I had to unplug the router for a few seconds...then flush my DNS -- to do that:

- Start -> Run -> type cmd
- in command prompt, type ipconfig /flushdns

All for the same goal...right? ;) :cool:
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,215
Bob Cerelli said:
But certainly wanted to give the details for how to post the results of IPCONFIG /ALL. That wasn't done before.
Another method that works just fine was given and anything else you had to add could have been done without the sarcasm.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
alij said:
I have tried the above, but it states >c:\ipconfig.txt is not recognised as an internal or external command,operable program or batch file.
Given that they did not not how to open or post the information from the ipconfig.txt file, I provided that information. Nothing sarcastic at all. Just informative.
 

alij

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
134
Thanks guys for all your help so far here are a few answers to your questions:

Have you set the Netgear router to auto-assign IP addresses via DHCP? Yes

Have you tried to connect the laptop to Negear router using an ethernet cable?Is it working that way? Yes,but still not working!

So what happened after you turned off the wireless security? Sorry but How do i do that?

ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt - this comes up with nothing just c:\documentsand settings \kevin>

When I type notepad c:\ipconfig.txt it comes up :
windows ip configuration
host name: acer-yt3fzngxv9
primary dns suffix:
Node type:unknown
IP Routing enabled:No
Wins Proxy Enabled:Yes

Ethernet adapter local area connection:
Media state: Media disconnected
Description: Realtek retl8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Physical Address: 00-0a-e4-57-75-oa

Tunnel adapter teredo tunneling pseudo-interface

Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
Description: teredo tunneling pseudo-interface
Physical address: FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
dhcp enabled:No
IP Address: fe80::FFFF:FFFF:FFFD%5
Default Gateway:
Netbios ove tcpip: Disabled






__________________
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
alij,

Glad the information on how to post the ipconfig.txt worked for you.

The problem is now with the entry:
"Media state: Media disconnected"

Since this if for your Realtek retl8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC, some common causes for this are a defective cable, port on the router or network card. Might also check in the Device Manager to make sure the card is enabled.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,215
alij said:
ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt - this comes up with nothing just c:\documentsand settings \kevin>
I know it appears that way but it only takes a second to run the command and you don't really see anything happening. Then, if you go to c:\ipconfig.txt the same report would be there. In any event, the end result is the same. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top