1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Tech support for grandparents.

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bradenjnelson, Jan 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bradenjnelson

    bradenjnelson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hello guys.

    I recently bought my grandparents a laptop. They are 60-70 years old. Now, I live three hours away from them. And this is their first experience with a computer. So I am trying to help them, but tech support over the phone is difficult and can only go so far.

    I am looking for some software that I can install on my computer, and their laptop, so that when they are having issues with their computer I can take control of their laptop, see their screen, fix their issues, and walk them through it. Free or paid is fine.

    thanks

    Braden
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  3. bradenjnelson

    bradenjnelson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks DH! That is exactly what I was looking for :)
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Remote Desktop is built in. Most people seem to forget about that.

    If you use TeamViewer, or even another solution, it may be best if you install the server so that it runs all the time. That way, they won't have to do anything when you need to connect.
     
  5. bradenjnelson

    bradenjnelson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I did forget about remote desktop.

    I have teamviewer setup on their desktop now, and I told them if they need help just to call me and open it.
    Works perfect!

    :)
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If it works, it works.
    I use UltraVNC because it can run a server in the background and they don't need to do anything on the other end. If they can start your server when you need it, then all is well. :D

    You can mark your thread "solved" using the button at the top of the page.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1038975

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice